life and times of angel

Rest and Guilt and Respite: A 2016 Resolution

I’ve been running Mermaid Vision Books for nearly 5 years now. When I started book blogging, it was a novel experience, and one that helped me participate in an amazing community. I’ve learned a lot from everyone I’ve interacted with as a blogger, and I’ve become a better reader and writer because of these experiences.

Over the last two years, it’s been difficult to remember why I loved the act of blogging. It’s become a cloud over my head, a burden. I have felt immensely guilty about not devoting enough time and effort to reviewing books as often as many other bloggers I know, about not being as social and interactive with the community as I should be, about not “earning” the books I receive to review months before other people. I know that these feelings aren’t productive or true, but they are there.

Things are going to be a little different in 2016.

Reviews are going down to four posts a month (roughly one a week), because as much as I might enjoy a certain book, I don’t always have a whole lot to say about that enjoyment besides “Oh, this book made me feel things and Writing Technique 1, 8, and 10 really helped that along.” Reviewing books has felt like a chore for more of the last two years than a joy, and that doesn’t help anyone or make for good reading material.

That doesn’t mean I’m only going to be reviewing books I like. I will still be talking about books that didn’t work for me, though those discussions will likely not be straight reviews. Writing at WWAC and Book Riot this year has taught me the importance of talking about books in richer contexts, and understanding how they play into social and political perspectives.

And sometimes, I just want to have fun with the way I write about books. Reviews aren’t as fun for me as they used to be. I’d like to have time to really sink into a story the way I used to, and to let that inspire my writing.

The guilt has also distracted from a project that I’ve been trying to work on since 2014, something that I would really like to bring to a new level in 2016, if only to know it’s gotten somewhere. That project is a novel. While I won’t be talking about the specifics of it here, it will be a big part of my 2016.

I’ll also be going back to some of the series I did back in 2014: Series Spotlight for shows that I’m watching, and Weekly Playlist to talk about music I’m enjoying. MVB has always been a personal platform for me, and if you know me, you know that I love sharing the things that I love.

I hope 2016 is a great year for all of you, and may it bring you all the stories you could possibly want.

1 reply »

  1. Good luck in writing your novel – I’m sure it will be great! And when it comes to blogging, don’t beat yourself up so much! As you said yourself, the thoughts you’re having aren’t true. I think you’re making the right choice when it comes to lowering the amount of reviews you write as I think it will help you start to enjoy blogging on the whole a lot more, especially as it will prevent from a huge blogging burnout.
    Wishing you a very happy and prosperous 2016 🙂

Leave a Reply

