Event Recaps

[recap] Raincoast Books’ Teens Read Winter & Spring Preview

IMG_5433Bookish Saturdays are always something to look forward to, and Raincoast’s Teens Read Preview on September 12 was no exception! Two events were held simultaneously in Toronto and Vancouver, with the Raincoast crew hosting Vancouver bloggers at the public library, and Vanessa Di Gregorio and Jenn Hubbs (Lost in a Great Book) leading the Toronto group as we watched the presentation through a livestream.

With a rather extensive catalogue of YA reads coming up in the next two seasons, the event got started fairly quickly after everyone settled in. Melissa and her team talked up each title, highlighting a few exciting books that I hadn’t yet heard about:

  • This Song Is (Not) For You – Laura Nowlin
    January 5, 2016
    I’ve been wanting to read a book about a band for ages, and it sounds like Nowlin’s third novel might just be what I’m looking for.
  • This Is Where It Ends – Marieke Nijkamp
    January 20, 2016
    Lots of buzz for this title from trusted bloggers and writers in my circle, so I was happy to have received an ARC in my swag bag. I’ve also appreciated seeing Marieke’s tweets and writing about diversity in YA.
  • I See Reality: Twelve Short Stories About Real Life
    January 26, 2016
    With contributions from several Canadian authors that address real issues for teens today, it won’t surprise anyone that this short story collection caught my eye.

raincoast winter spring preview covers

  • Into the Dim – Janet B. Taylor
    March 1, 2016
    This title was described as “Outlander for teens,” and I’m quite intrigued.
  • Gena/Finn – Kat Hegelson and Hannah Moskowitz
    April 5, 2016
    I may have had to hold back a surprised scream when I saw this book in the catalogue, as it’s exactly the kind of friendship-focused story I’ve been looking for in YA. The characters are a lot like me and my best friend, and I’m so excited to read their story.

  • Tell the Wind and Fire – Sarah Rees Brennan
    April 5, 2016
    I really enjoyed Brennan’s Unspoken series, so I’m definitely going to check out her retelling of A Tale of Two Cities.

raincoast preview 2

  • No Love Allowed – Kate Evangelista
    April 19, 2016
    Filipina author WHAT UP Y’ALL! I’m excited about this new contemporary YA romance title.
  • Love, Lies, and Spies – Cindy Anstey
    April 19, 2016
    Fake dating. That’s all I needed to know about this historical novel.
  • The Square Root of Summer – Harriet Reuter Hapgood
    May 3, 2016
    I have a weakness for time travel romances, and it sounds like Square Root‘s got me covered this year.
  • Labyrinth Lost – Zoraida Córdova
    May 5, 2016
    I’ve really enjoyed Zoraida’s books, and am very much looking forward to her take on witchy YA.
  • The Art of Being Normal – Lisa Williamson
    May 31, 2016
    Transgender characters are still not as familiar and common in YA as they should be, and I appreciate the opportunity to read their stories and learn about them.
  • All the Feels – Danika Stone
    June 7, 2016
    Another fandom-focused book. I’m utterly delighted, and can’t wait for next June to check this out.

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 2.46.52 PM

Swag bags were also handed out, and I was quite surprised to find This is Where It Ends and Truthwitch (by Susan Dennard) in my bag. Also included were: a gorgeous map from the Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson, a Sourcebooks Fire preview booklet, two adorable bookmarks, a magnet, and #shelfie button.

Thanks to Raincoast for a great event, and I’m really looking forward to reading all of these titles!

raincoast bloggers

angel

Categories: Event Recaps

Tagged as: ,

3 replies »

  1. I’m so excited for these books! And thank you for sharing Kate Evangelista! I looked up her up on Goodreads and was pleased to see she had other books. Do you have a recommendation for which one to start with?

Leave a Reply

