Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Book Related Problems I Have

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish

10. Spine cracks.

sad gif

I know it’s inevitable, but I try really hard not to crack the spines of my books (to the point of ridiculousness). I will open them as carefully as possible and I NEVER put books down flat on the pages. Why do I do this? Because so many of the books I owned as a kid were subjected to that, and they have literally fallen apart because of how often I read them.

9. People who judge the genres you read as “childish”

sideyeI had a phase where I judged people on the regular for the things they chose to read, so I get why it’s so appealing to dismiss others’ genre choices. Then I realized that that literally doesn’t do anything to improve the state of the world. As long as people are reading and discussing their reading choices, I’m a happy girl.

8. Back problems

books gif

Yup, I carry books like Gus Gus here carries corn kernels, and that is probably not the best idea for my back. That said, the last time I did that was for Maggie Stiefvater’s signing at the Toronto International Book Fair, with a record 9 books in my tote bag.

7. Getting nervous about recommending books to people

nervous gif

When people ask me for book recommendations, I am simultaneously elated and plunged into a vat of anxiety. Reccing books to friends I talk to often is easier than doing the same thing for acquaintances or strangers, because it’s harder to tell what they’re looking to get from a book. These days, I tend to just rec the same five books, because I find few people have read them.

6. Not liking hyped books

Ben-Wyatt-I-Dont-Get-It-At-All

Reading tastes are subjective, and people understanding that is one of my favourite things about the YA/blogging community. However, I do get a little sad when I try a book that everyone seems to love love love and I just find it okay. Did I miss something? Should I have read it more slowly, more quickly, during a different time in my life, etc? And sometimes the answer is just that the book wasn’t for me. But (completely offensive/hurtful books aside), that hype can still be important because there might be someone out there who needs this book at this particular time in their life.

5. Reading slumps

bored gif

I struggle with a lot of these, especially after reading a highly anticipated book. I’m much pickier than I used to be, and so it’s hard for me to just read a book unless I feel motivated enough by the plot to set time aside for it.

4. Not having enough space for all my books

too many books gif

While I now own more bookshelves than I’ve ever had in my entire life, it won’t be long before I run out of space (again), and need more shelves to display my collection.

3. Being spoiled for the ending of a book series–when I asked specifically not to be.

why gif

I have a very weird relationship with spoilers. A lot of the time, I don’t really mind being spoiled for things, and will often ask for those spoilers, but when it’s the end of a book series? Then we might have a problem. Again, it depends on whether or not I’ve asked. I’m pretty chill about series that came out decades ago though.

2. Losing sleep over books

parks and rec leslie sleep

I’ve developed insomnia as I’ve advanced through my 20s. These days, I try to avoid starting or continuing a book I know will likely keep me up just before bed, because otherwise, I become a total zombie.

1. Time? What time?

time gif

As much as I would love to stay home and read all day, I often have to squeeze in reading time between work and writing. Over the last year, I definitely haven’t done as much reading as I wanted to, and I’d like that to change this year.

What are your top ten bookish problems? How do you deal with them?

5 replies »

  1. Great list! I share most of these problems as well but probably my biggest problem is spoilers (or maybe that’s more of a peeve?) One time a coworker was like “Don’t worry, I won’t spoil it for you…” and then she did. That “why would you do that?!” face says it all. I’m still not over it.

Leave a Reply

