Monthly Recaps

2014: Late Summer Recap

Catch up with the latest posts from Mermaid Vision Books with this handy guide to the month!

Okay, I can’t be the only one who’s stunned that it’ll be October in less than 24 hours. The last few months of the summer have been so full that I’ve been away from this blog longer than expected. I’m working my way back into regular posting though, so thanks for sticking around!

mermaidvisions late summer recap photo collage

HCC Frenzy’s Annual Blogger Fall Preview was awesome, as always, and I loved getting the chance to catch up with my bookish friends from both Toronto and Ottawa. I also attended Fan Expo for the fourth year in a row–my Day 1 and 2/3 recaps can be found on Women Write About Comics. The Korean drama Rooftop Prince also captured my attention for a few weeks, though I sadly can’t say the same for the Maze Runner film.

But with lots of fall books on my reading horizons, it’ll be back to reviews and anticipation for winter novels!

reading challenge september

september reads

The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3) | The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet | I’ve Got Your Number | Wedding Night | Shopaholic to the Stars (Shopaholic #7)
Noggin | Remember Me? | The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines #4) | What I Thought Was True | Sinner
Twenties Girl | The Death of Us | Alanna | In the Hand of the Goddess | Mortal Danger
In the Shadow of Blackbirds | Blood of My Blood (Jasper Dent #3) | When My Name Was Keoko | Girl Defective | Made for You
Anatomy of a Misfit | Silver Shadows (Bloodlines #5)

favourite-new

Thank you, Razorbill Canada!

Thank you, Razorbill Canada!

revies

reviews

Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater: “Sinner is a novel of small explosions and craters left behind, and the one person that might just be willing to sit in those craters with you through the night.”

The Death of Us by Alice Kuipers: “The Death of Us is a case study in triple-vision, taking a familiar type of story and dividing it in some very interesting ways.”

Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre: “With a mythology that never feels concrete enough to ground the rest of the story, Mortal Danger was not a good bargain for my time.”

seriesfringe-series-spotlight

The Premise: FBI Agent Olivia Dunham isn’t expecting the call she gets one night, but who could have expected what she would find inside the mysterious plane that lands at Logan Airport? Olivia’s work on the investigation leads her to scientist Walter Bishop, his work in fringe science, and his prickly son Peter, who is Olivia’s only hope for getting the information she needs.

Read more…

Categories: Monthly Recaps

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

