Uncategorized

[recap] HCC Frenzy Presents 2014

hcc frenzy presents opening slideYou know that when you get an email from HCC Frenzy that there are some exciting things ahead, and last month was no exception: the invitation for their third annual Frenzy Presents event lit up my inbox on a sunny afternoon, and I smiled for the rest of the day.

I’ve been fortunate enough to attend the event all three years, and it’s a great way of not only getting to know the upcoming books that may land in my TBR pile, but the amazing team behind the scenes too.

The afternoon started with hugs and some catching up with Christa, Andrea and Tiff, and upon arrival at the HarperCollins Canada offices, lots of excited chatting with the Ottawa girls (Ciara, Emilie, Kim and Jess—we missed you Meaghan and Katie!).

Once everyone settled into their seats, the presentations began. We heard about quite a few books off the fall and winter lists, and the ones that piqued my interest the most were:

Transcendent – Lesley Livingston (Goodreads)

I really enjoyed Starling and the Wondrous Strange trilogy, and can’t believe this series is ending! Shannon’s presentation brought her full circle—she’d introduced Starling at the first Frenzy Presents event in 2012. Lesley is a fantastic author, so I’ll definitely be following her to her next set of books.

bone gap coverBone Gap – Laura Ruby (Goodreads)

Magical realism and an unpredictable setting? Sign me up immediately. This strikes me as a jigsaw puzzle of a book, with new mysteries on every page. I loved hearing about this novel, and I can already tell it’s going to be one of my most anticipated 2015 picks.

Vanishing Girls – Lauren Oliver (Goodreads)

Contemporary YA is where Lauren Oliver started (psst, Before I Fall is SO GOOD!), and she continues her return to it with this new story. I’m so curious about the two sisters and what secrets they’re hiding.

Falling into Place – Amy Zhang (Goodreads)

Diverse authors writing contemporary YA make my heart SO HAPPY. I loved the comparison to Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver, and the subject of the novel itself is something I’m emotionally tied to as well.

red queen aveyard coverRed Queen – Victoria Aveyard (Goodreads)

That cover actually made me gasp so A+, designers. I am a reluctant series reader, so I’m hoping that this fantasy novel can fill the hole left behind by the Fire and Thorns series and the Grisha Trilogy.

My Heart and Other Black Holes – Jasmine Warga (Goodreads)

With one of my favourite titles so far this season, this book promises to be something right up my alley. A lot of the reasons for its appeal are personal, and I’m pretty sure I’m going to cry when I do get to read it.

After the presentations, we had a YA Quiz hosted by author Eve Silver (Rush series), which the Ottawa girls rocked (seriously, it was no contest XD).  Lots of fun photos were taken, and you can check out some of them at Michele’s recap!

hcc frenzy presents collage

 

Thanks for the amazing time, Frenzy team! [Photo by HCC Frenzy]

Thanks for the amazing time, Frenzy team! [Photo by HCC Frenzy]

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

