Harry Potter Reread 2014

[HP Reread 2014] Half-Blood Prince Check-in #1

hp-bannerI, along with some of my favourite bloggers, am rereading all seven books this year. Here on MVB, I will be livetweeting as I read, as well as writing up a bi-weekly recap of where I’m at in the book. When I was first discovering the series, I read so quickly that I never really let myself savour each word, so I am very much looking forward to taking my time and letting everything I love about Harry’s story sink in.

harry potter and the half blood prince coverThe Chapters:

  1. The Other Minister
  2. Spinner’s End
  3. Will and Won’t
  4. Horace Slughorn
  5. An Excess of Phlegm
  6. Draco’s Detour
  7. The Slug Club
  8. Snape Victorious
  9. The Half-Blood Prince
  10. The House of Gaunt
  11. Hermione’s Helping Hand
  12. Silver and Opals
  13. The Secret Riddle
  14. Felix Felicis
  15. The Unbreakable Vow

The Highlights: (some spoilers for plot arcs in play in this book and the rest of the series.)

  • The Muggle reaction to the war spilling out of the wizarding world has always been one of the most interesting things about the series to me. It’s a reminder that the advancements made by wizards doesn’t make them better than regular old human beings, and that it’s simply an illustration of what we are capable of. The use of magic doesn’t mean less blood is spilled.
  • Rolling right along on the train of uncommon opinions, Spinner’s End is one of my favourite chapters. I loved seeing the relationship between Bellatrix and Narcissa, sisters who are nominally on the same side, but have very different goals. This reread showed me that Narcissa might actually be more Hufflepuff than you might think. She is loyal first and foremost to her family, doing whatever it takes to protect them, and that includes siding with whoever is the most powerful. That said, she doesn’t completely trust Voldemort the way that Bellatrix does–why should she, when he has only ever punished and made her family miserable? If Order of the Phoenix highlighted Lily Evans and Molly Weasley’s sacrifices for their families, Half-Blood Prince is where Narcissa Malfoy can be understood.
  • I’d be lying if I said that Dumbledore interacting with the Dursleys wasn’t hilarious and amazing. But at the moment, all I can think about is how I didn’t realize that it was satisfying because it was something that had to happen before the big twist at the end of the book. But that’s for my second check-in in two weeks…
  • I don’t want to talk about Horace Slughorn.
    tumblr_lwn7isopRv1qdlkgg
  • Felix Felicis is a funny little thing. I personally don’t think it’s what it claims to be: luck is too fickle to control. And the way that Harry uses it as a placebo on Ron strengthens that opinion. There are plenty of cases in the Muggle world that can attest to how powerful the human mind can be when it decides it can do something, and the Harry Potter series has always placed importance on the ability to choose a path and fight for it. So yes, Felix Felicis helps Harry in a pinch, but it all also boils down to timing and coincidence.

Philosopher’s Stone Check-in #1 | Philosopher’s Stone Check-in #2 | Chamber of Secrets Check-in #1Chamber of Secrets Check-in #2 | Prisoner of Azkaban Check-in #1Prisoner of Azkaban Check-in #2 | Goblet of Fire Check-in | Order of the Phoenix Check-in #1 | Order of the Phoenix Check-in #2

Thinking of joining in? Sign up over @ Just A Lil’ Lost, and note down the schedule below!

  • January: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s/Sorcerer’s Stone
  • February: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  • March: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  • April: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • May: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  • June: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  • July: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
2 replies »

  1. My books were packed away for all of April so I’m a month behind, just starting Order of the Phoenix now. As for HBP, I loved the Spinner’s End chapter, too! The Bellatrix/Narcissa insights are great, and it offers a fascinating peek into Snape’s life and character when he’s not being filtered through Harry’s point of view (and, of course, when he’s playing the part of a good Death Eater). Happy rereading!

Leave a Reply

