life and times of angel

Mermaid Vision Books nominated for a Liebster Award!

In exactly one week, Mermaid Vision Books will be celebrating its third blogoversary!

arashi beautiful world

liebster2While I’ve written lots of reviews in three years, I haven’t really made it much of a habit to share more personal things. So when the awesome Jaaron let me know that she’d nominated me for a Liebster Award, I had to take her up on it!

1. How long have you been blogging? What made you want to start book blogging?

I’ve been blogging since May 2011–in fact, my third blogoversary is next Friday! I read book blogs for about a year before I started my own, and I think that helped me to figure out what kind of content I wanted to post.

2. Have you always been a reader or was reading a hobby that developed as you grew up?

I’ve been a reader my entire life, and I can’t imagine not being one.

3. Do you have a least favourite book? Why or why not?

I really really don’t like Jane Eyre. I tried reading it when it was assigned as summer reading before freshman year (I loved classics as a kid), I tried reading it in university, I tried reading it after university. I just could never get into the story. And yes, I’ve seen the 2011 film–still not a fan.

4. What is your favourite part about having a book blog?

I love that it allows me to have conversations with authors and fellow writers. Doing interviews with writers challenges me to think about books and the writing process in new ways, and I always learn from authors.

510_amyexcite

Me every time I hear about a book that sounds perfect for my shelf

5. Do you have a specific way that you organize your bookshelves? If so, what made you choose that system?

I’m actually in the middle of reorganizing my books, because I only have two five-shelf bookshelves, and most of my books are in boxes. Ideally, they would all be organized by author’s last name, then chronological order. As much as I would love to do something aesthetically pleasing like colour sorting, I still rely on author names to find books that I want to reread.

6. What is one fun fact that you want your followers to know?

I can pretty much recite the entire script of The Sound of Music off the top of my head. It was my favourite movie as a kid, and it’s still my sick/general-feeling-crappy day movie.

7. Do you annotate your books or do you like to keep them clean and pristine?

I usually keep them clean and mark things off with Post-It flags. That said, I do have copies of The Giver and To Kill a Mockingbird from elementary school that I’ve annotated.

8. Does a book’s cover influence whether you pick up the book or not? Have you read any books despite not liking its cover and been surprised by how much you liked the contents?

As much as I love a good cover, I always make my decision based on the content. The author doesn’t really get to pick their story’s packaging, but they do have the ability to write amazing stories, so I always try to let that sell me on a book.

"Okay...but is there a ship I can ship like burning?"

“Okay…but is there a ship I can ship like burning?”

9. Where is your favourite place to read?

I don’t particularly have one? I tend to read as much as I can, wherever I can, but I’m probably most comfortable at home. My bed, with afternoon sunlight spilling in through the windows, and the living room couch (again, next to the window) are tied for my usual spots.

10. What upcoming 2014 book are you most excited to read?

I’m going to cheat and pick two:

mortal heart ruin and rising 2014

Mortal Heart by Robin Lafevers — Grave Mercy was one of the most memorable books I’ve ever read, and it challenged and inspired me as an aspiring writer. The companion novel Dark Triumph only upped the expectations and stakes for these characters, and I am so excited to see what the third novel has in store.

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo — Surprisingly, I haven’t talked too much about my love for this series, but I would consider that a pretty high compliment. All I ever do when it’s brought up is take the nearest copy and convince whoever’s talking to me to buy it. Leigh Bardugo’s writing style is so lovely and powerful, and I can’t wait to enjoy more of it in less than a month.

11. What advice would you give to aspiring book bloggers?

Schedule, schedule, schedule. Don’t feel bad for not liking books that everyone’s raving about–we all have something to contribute to the discussion. Support diversity in literature in whatever way you can, because it’s good for everyone. Don’t tag authors in negative reviews. Be kind and compassionate, but don’t let anyone make you feel bad for being who you are.

Thanks again, Jaaron! I’m tagging The Bevy Bibliothèque and Ciara @ Lost at Midnight, all ladies with whom I love talking about books!

tumblr_m75d01yevQ1qbpav3o3_250

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

