Lists

[fancast] The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Three things you should know about me:

  • I adore the Lunar Chronicles–it’s probably the book series I talk about the most these days.
  • I’ve spent much of the last year of my life watching lots of Japanese dramas in my spare time.
  • Conversations with my best friends (including an Arashi fan) and fellow U_M girls always end in posts like these.

Untitled

azama mew Azama Mew as Linh Cinder

 I’m sure I’ll feel much more grateful when I find a guy who thinks complex wiring in a girl is a turn-on.

–Mew is best known for her portrayal of Sailorjupiter in the live-action Sailormoon drama. She’s also Marissa’s inspiration for Cinder!

 

 

 

sakurai shoSakurai Sho as Prince Kai of the Eastern Commonwealth

Not that I have anything against dancing. I can dance. If you want to dance.

–Sho’s professionalism and serious nature is a perfect match for the thoughtful Prince Kai.

 

 

 

 ikoHorikita Maki as Iko

Normally I like gushy things, but it’s different when it’s real people. I prefer the net dramas.

–I really enjoyed Maki’s vulnerable performance in Tokujo Kabachi!, and her comic timing in variety shows is lovely to watch.

 

 

 

peonyShida Mirai as Peony

And then he’ll recognize me at the ball, and I’ll dance with him–and Pearl will be livid!

–Shida Mirai is a delicate actress, and there’s a freshness to her performances that would work wonderfully for Peony.

 

 

 

pearlMizuhara Kiko as Pearl

You can’t be serious! Her? Go with us?

–Kiko’s wide eyes can express innocence as well as danger, both useful for playing Pearl. I also really like how she and Shida Mirai share the same eye shape.

 

 

 

levanaKuroki Meisa as Queen Levana

You have much to learn about politics. I think you will soon discover that it is all about give and take, my dear handsome prince.

–What sold me on Meisa as Queen Levana was her skills at sword-fighting: she’s deadly and gorgeous and never quite what she seems.

 

 

dr. erlandOhno Satoshi as Dr. Erland

Well. We don’t need consciousness. Let’s go ahead and get started.

— So he’s not exactly white-haired, but Ohno Satoshi is excellent at playing characters that are seemingly detached from the world (and insanity) going on around them. Dr. Erland fits well among his other roles.

 

 

scarletKarina as Scarlet Benoit

Well, they call me Scarlet. Yes, like the hair, what a clever observation.

–Scarlet is sarcastic and clever, but quick to hope as well. Karina captures all of those qualities perfectly, and her chemistry with the actor I chose for Wolf doesn’t hurt either.

 

 

wolfMatsumoto Jun as Wolf

It came from a fight. Just another pointless fight. All of them.

–Jun is well-known for his portrayal of jerk-with-a-heart-of-gold Domyouji Tsukasa in Hana Yori Dango, and Wolf certainly shares similarities with Domyouji in Scarlet.

 

 

Untitled-2Aiba Masaki as Captain Carswell Thorne

I can see that you’re in need of an accomplice. And lucky for you, I happen to be a criminal mastermind.

–Good-looking, flirty and more cheerful than an escaped convict has a right to be? Aiba Masaki is your man. Er, well, if you can find him.

 

 

cressInoue Mao as Cress

I am an explorer, setting courageously off into the wild unknown. My life is an adventure. I will not be shackled to this satellite anymore.

–Mao may look demure and quiet, but that only hides a teasing and enthusiastic personality. She’d play off against Aiba’s Thorne with some seriously amazing line delivery.

 

 

jacinNinomiya Kazunari as Jacin

Don’t try to push your swoony psychodrama on me. I’m sworn to protect her.

–Ninomiya Kazunari is nothing if not brilliant at playing characters that have twelve different layers to their psyches.

 

Cress is now available in bookstores everywhere, along with Cinder and Scarlet.

**All images taken from original magazine scans and Google Images.

4 replies »

  1. OMFG. I LOVE your fancast choices!! the Lunar Chronicles is my favorite series ever, and even though I don’t watch a lot of Japanese dramas, I approve of every single one of your choices. They all just seem perfect! I would super-duper LOVE to see a Japanese version of this series made as a movie! ;D

  2. I just finished Cress so this fancast came at a perfect time. I love that you cast Sho as Kai!! Perfection if there was ever such a thing. Actually, I LOVE that you cast Arashi in all the male parts. Japan needs to make this happen. MOAR Arashi in everything I say :)!

  3. All of Arashi in that cast I can’t stop laughing. I can only see Jun as Kai though. And Aiba as Thorne? No… Nino as Jacin is perfect but I think Maki would be a better Cress. And Karina as Scarlet??? Yes I am down for that!

Leave a Reply

