Harry Potter Reread 2014

[HP Reread 2014] Philosopher’s Stone Check-in #2

hp-bannerI, along with some of my favourite bloggers, am rereading all seven books this year. Here on MVB, I will be livetweeting as I read, as well as writing up a bi-weekly recap of where I’m at in the book. When I was first discovering the series, I read so quickly that I never really let myself savour each word, so I am very much looking forward to taking my time and letting everything I love about Harry’s story sink in.

My Philosopher’s Stone Check-in Post #1 can be found here.

hp1The Chapters: 

  1. Quidditch
  2. The Mirror of Erised
  3. Nicholas Flamel
  4. Norbert the Norwegian Ridgeback
  5. The Forbidden Forest
  6. Through the Trapdoor

The Highlights:
SPOILERS ABOUND – Read at your own risk!

  • I’ve never been fond of sports, and the only time I remember being excited for games was in university, because my school had a legendary rivalry with another school’s basketball team. Cheesy as it might sound, I loved the solidarity and the school spirit we saw in those games. Likewise, I don’t find Quidditch all that interesting on its own, but I suppose if I were in Gryffindor or Slytherin, I would be ridiculously invested in every second of the matches.
  • I’ll admit that I was completely stunned by the (later) admission that Quirrell was the one hexing Harry off his broom. It’s comforting now to see that Rowling was this intuitive and clever a writer, to lay out all of these very obvious clues and lead the reader to believe exactly what she wanted them to believe.
  • Harry seeing James and Lily in the Mirror of Erised will always rank as one of the saddest moments in the entire series for me. He will never, ever be able to see himself with his parents standing beside him, and he will have to content himself with seeing them only as they were. It’s been years since I first read this scene, but the impact hasn’t lessened at all.
  • “Yet he sometimes had the horrible feeling that Snape could read minds.” – I completely forgot this line. It’s clearly foreshadowing the abilities that Snape does display in Order of the Phoenix, but it was such a simple and forgettable line that it doesn’t seem like anything more than an exaggeration in the mind of an 11-year-old. Again, Rowling’s talent at laying out clues is unmistakable.
  • I really loved the logic game that Hermione solves in the obstacle course (it is one!) for the Philosopher’s Stone. In fact, I even tried to solve it myself during my reread (I couldn’t remember what the answer was). I also thought that this was a really great touch to Snape’s characterization–he might be half-Muggle, but his intellect is frightening and to underestimate him would be a deadly mistake.
  • The last chapter seemed to fly as I was reading. The movie definitely improved on this–Richard Harris was my favourite Dumbledore, and his delivery of the lines helped to slowly gather up all the plot threads and give them closure, while still hinting at all the rest to come.

7FrWSIM

Thinking of joining in? Sign up over @ Just A Lil’ Lost, and note down the schedule below!

  • January: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s/Sorcerer’s Stone
  • February: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  • March: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  • April: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • May: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  • June: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  • July: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
9 replies »

Leave a Reply

