Book Blogger 15 Day Challenge

[15 Day Challenge] Day 6: Bookaholics Unite

15-Day-ChallengeSo I am nothing if not a fan of challenges. Happily, April over at Good Books and Good Wine just came up with a fantastic meme for book bloggers, and I’m definitely going to be participating!

Books or clothes? I’ll take the books, thanks.

Usually, I’ll walk into a bookstore with one or two titles in my head. I rarely buy both, but it’s an easy way to start browsing.

I visit the YA section first in case I forgot that a new installment/book by an author I love has come out, and most time I come out with a stack of four or five novels. This method’s helped a lot over the last few months, since I’ve been on both official and unofficial hiatuses and haven’t been keeping up with new releases. The stack gets whittled down as I wander around the store.

My next stop is always the writing/literary criticism corner. I love lit theory and am always trying to learn more of it keep my analytical skills up. Lit theory was my favourite class in university, and I wish I’d had more time to study it. I try to get at least one new book a month.

I then amble over to the romance section, though I only pick up books from this area two or three times a year. I love romance novels, but I’m very picky, so I tend to stick with authors I love.

My visit to the bookstore usually ends with a stint in fiction or in the art/design section. I rarely buy anything from these shelves, but I do tend to get story ideas from looking through art books.

What’s your book shopping routine?

angel

Leave a Reply

