Splash into Summer

Splash into Summer: Top 5 Summer Activities with Hélène Boudreau

splashintosummer400shiny_2013

17375001Top Five Summer Splashin’ Activities

Discover Hélène’s favorite summer activities – all involving water of course. Make sure to get your swimsuit ready!

I grew up on a small island surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean so splishy-splashy summer activities are some of my favourite things to do. Here are my top five summer splashin’ activities!

1. SURFING

I am so bad at surfing and have only ever managed to stand on my board about three times in my life but it is so much fun to get out there and catch a few waves even if you’re like me and all you can manage is getting up on your knees. This day, it was only 13 C/ 55 F and the water was even chillier. Thank goodness for wet suits!

Top5Summer_Surfing_Boudreau

2. SAND CASTLE BUILDING

My family and I stay at an ocean side cottage every summer and try to schedule our stay during the annual Sandcastle Building Competition. We came in FIRST last year and plan on defending our title again this summer. Jade the mermaid has even been known to make an appearance!

Top5Summer_SandMermaid_Boudreau

Top5Summer_WhaleWatching_Boudreau3. WHALE WATCHING

Creatures of the sea have always amazed me (obviously!) so if you ever get the chance—don’t pass up an opportunity to go whale watching. It’s so magical!

Last time, we even discovered a sea cave. I wonder what’s hiding in there…

SAMSUNG

4. RACE!

I joke that I once came in 141st in a race with 140 competitors and that’s not very far from the truth. I am slow. VERY slow. But I love competing in races at least once a summer. These days I usually do walking half marathons (my best time is 3:01 hrs—a glacial pace) but I’ve also been known to do short triathlons. Swimming is probably my worst leg of the race but it’s a great way to cool down for the biking and running part. This is my ‘I’m so glad THAT’S over’ face.

Top5Summer_Triathlon_Boudreau

5. SNOWBALL FIGHTS

Yup, you read that correctly. When you live within driving distance of a dozen hockey arenas like I do, there’s nothing like loading up the back of the truck with Zamboni snow and dumping it in your front yard for an instant pile of chilly summer fun. Snowball fight!

Top5Summer_Snow_Boudreau

Thank you for stopping by, Hélène!

HeleneBoudreauAthorPhotoAbout Hélène 

Hélène Boudreau writes fiction and non-fiction for children and young adults. She is also a compulsive walker, a chicklet wrangler and a lover of cheese and cheap chocolate.

Her tween novel REAL MERMAIDS DON’T WEAR TOE RINGS is a 2011 Crystal Kite Member Choice Award Finalist.

Add Real Mermaids Don’t Sell Sea Shells on Goodreads | Follow Hélène on Twitter @heleneboudreau | Visit Hélène’s website

Order Real Mermaids Don’t Sell Sea Shells from Amazon Book Depository | Chapters

angel

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

