Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish

1. Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers – My love for Grave Mercy knows no bounds, so naturally, I was quite anxious about the companion novel. Happily, my worries were completely unfounded, and LaFevers delivers another stunning story with one of the most kickass female heroines I’ve ever read about.

2. Game by Barry Lyga – I dare anyone to start this book and resist staying up all night just to find out what happens to Jasper and Connie in this installment of the Jasper Dent series. No, really, you might just have to stay up all night–this book is terrifying.

131040803. Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi – Let’s just put it this way: I started this novel firmly in Team Adam, and somehow–through all the crazy action sequences and new revelations–ended up finding my place in Team Warner. (Believe you me, Meghan crowed over this for weeks.) Check out my review here.

4. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo – The rich storytelling and unique world that Bardugo has built into her Grisha trilogy are back to enchant readers, and I can’t imagine any of it could be disappointing.

5. Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter – “We are family” goes the famous song, and Kat discovers just what that word means in yet another fantastic story in the Heist Society series. Check out my review here.

160594266. Love in the Time of Global Warming by Francesca Lia Block – This book (and my review of it) have yet to come out, but I’m never going to forget the reading experience I had with this novel. I did feel like I’d been swept away into an unrecognizable world of Giants, deadly Lotus-eaters and an untouchable, ever-present magic. Fans of Block’s previous books and new readers alike will find much to love in Pen’s journey.

7. Born Weird by Andrew Kaufman – Weird may not be a YA novel, but it was truly an unforgettable read. I had no expectations, nothing to go on, and Kaufman took me on the wildest, most touching ride with the Weird family.

8. The Hunter’s Moon by O.R. Melling – I’d seen posts about this novel on Tumblr, and luckily, I’d borrowed a copy from Meg last year so as soon as my curiousity was peaked, I picked it up. I finished it in three days, and they felt like the three busiest and most stressful days of my life, because all I wanted to do was keep reading!

134498589. The Lives We Lost by Megan Crewe – The Way We Were was a novel recommended to me early last year, and I certainly didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. The sequel is just as quietly poignant and powerful as the first novel.

10. The Archived by Victoria Schwab – This book stood out to me in a sea of dystopians and paranormal novels, and I am so glad I picked it up. It was creepy and gorgeous and striking, all at the same time, and Schwab’s descriptions live in my memory.

What are the top ten books you’ve read so far in 2013? I’d love to grab some recommendations from all of you! 

Categories: Top Ten Tuesday

Tagged as:

4 replies »

  1. I’ve read quite a few of these and I would have to agree – I loved The Archived, Game, Dark Triumph and The Lives We Lost. Glad to hear Love in the Time of Global Warming is God. I’m dying to read that one!

  2. I haven’t read any of the ones on your list, but I want to read most of them! 🙂 I’ve loved the other Heist Society books, so good to know this most recent is just as good.

Leave a Reply

