Uncategorized

[blog event] Classics Retold

Many of my fondest childhood memories involve curling up on the couch and poring over one of the numerous classical works of literature one could find at the library. My mum started me with the children’s versions, illustrations and all, and as I grew up, I moved into the actual texts, finding more and more to love about these rich stories.

classicsretoldOver the last few months, I’ve been trying to find rhythm and inspiration for blogging again, and part of that has come through taking a break from YA and romance, and getting back into the books that started it all for me: the classics. Happily, The Cheap Reader and several other fantastic blogs have come up with a way to celebrate a shared love for classical literature.

The Classics Retold project was inspired by Project: Fairy Tale. Simply choose a classic work of literature, and explore all of its sequels, retellings, reinterpretations. How you do this is completely up to you–character analyses and liveblogging can mix with reviews of the texts and/or films. September 2013 is when it all goes down!

I’ve signed up to cover one of my favourite plays, Much Ado About Nothing. It’s a play that’s fascinated me since I was a kid, and with every year I’ve reread it, I find more and more to love about it. I’m especially excited to talk about two recent adaptations: Josie Rourke’s direction of David Tennant and Catherine Tate as Benedick and Beatrice, and Joss Whedon’s black-and-white film (which I was lucky enough to see at TIFF last September!). Both have only deepened my appreciation for the original text, and I’m so excited to discuss all of them with all of you.

Tentative plans include posts on:

  • the original text of the play
  • infidelity and double standards, as illustrated by Hero and Claudio’s relationship
  • the women of Much Ado, and how they do/don’t represent the ideal female
  • the men of Much Ado, and how they do/don’t represent the ideal male
  • the 2005 BBC television adaptation starring Damian Lewis, Sarah Parish and Billie Piper
  • theatre versus film: advantages and disadvantages of these mediums in a retelling
  • the different kinds of comedy in the play
  • the 2011 theatre production starring David Tennant and Catherine Tate
  • the 2012 film starring Amy Acker and Alexis Denisof

Want to know more? The talented bloggers hosting this event are:

Did I mention they’re setting up some great giveaways for participants? I would love to hear all about your favourite classics, so don’t forget to sign up!

angel

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: ,

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

