Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish

1. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare – I had been pleasantly surprised by the first two books in this series, and was hoping CP2 would round out the trilogy. That was not the case, and I still feel hoodwinked a full three weeks after reading it. Check out my review here.

2. Just One Day by Gayle Forman – If I Stay and Where She Went are two of my all-time favourite contemporary novels, so my disappointment in Forman’s newest novel is doubly painful. I couldn’t relate to Allyson, and Willem was not swoon-worthy in the least.

3. Eve and Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate – My love for the Animorphs series knows no bounds, but I was nervous about this new release from the same authors that brought me my childhood heroes. I shouldn’t have worried–the story was intense enough to capture my attention, with characters that are just as memorable as Jake, Cassie and Rachel. Check out my review here.

4. Every Day by David Levithan – As much as I loved David Levithan’s past novels, I just could not get into Every Day. A was not a character I could relate to, and the way the story played out was not something I was comfortable with. Check out my review here.

5. Something Like Normal by Trish Doller – The story of a young man returning from the war in Afghanistan and his struggle to relearn and reclaim his life captivated me completely. I read this book in a few hours and immediately wanted to reread it.

6. Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield – I wanted to love this book, but the plot twists did not make sense to me, and I couldn’t invest myself in the characters. Check out my review here.

7. Hemlock by Katherine Peacock – This tale of werewolves in a small town was recommended to me by the amazing Shannon at HarperCollins, and while I had my reservations regarding paranormal YA, I found that Peacock had a writing style that was wonderfully paced and kept the story from falling into tropes. It’s one of the few paranormal novels I would recommend. Check out my review here.

8. Insurgent by Veronica Roth – I enjoyed Divergent when I first read it, but not enough to remember what had happened by the time Insurgent was released. Unfortunately, I had a difficult time getting through this second installment of the series, and I don’t think I’ll be picking up the third and final novel this fall.

9. Mister Death’s Blue-Eyed Girls by Mary Downing Hahn – Gorgeous prose and characters that are starkly drawn and so very human made this one of my top ten books in 2012. Check out my review here.

10. Angel Burn by L.A. Weatherly – I avoid angel novels for the most part, but again, recommendations from trusted friends convinced me to pick up this book, and what an intense and crazy ride it was. Check out my review here.

What are the books that you thought you would love more or less than you did? 

Categories: Top Ten Tuesday

Tagged as:

9 replies »

  1. Ahhh, Angel you have me worried, I really want to read Just One Day and Every Day, haha. Sorry to hear they ended up disappointing 😦

    On the plus side, good news for Hemlock 🙂 I also have Mister Death’s Blue-Eyed Girls on my TBR list, so yay!

    I’m not too invested in the Divergent trilogy either.

    Great list!

    My Top Ten Tuesday

  2. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Something Like Normal; I’m looking forward to Doller’s next book. Hemlock was definitely interesting! Nice list.

  3. Oh, Animorphs <3.

    Glad to see I'm not the only one not feeling the love for Just One Day or Every Day. I also loved Gayle Forman's other two books, and pretty much everything else David Levithan has written, but those just didn't do it for me.

Leave a Reply

