Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top “Ten” Bookish Goals For 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish

I don’t have a whole lot of bookish goals this year, since I’m trying to balance a lot of things on my plate, but here are the five that I think are most important.

1. I’m super busy these days with work and writing, so I’d like to read at least three books a week. That might actually be stretching it because I have to do so much stuff in between work and family things, but fingers crossed!

2. Stay on track with review books. One of the biggest challenges I faced in 2012 was keeping up with all the ARCs and finished copies that were being sent to me. I won’t be requesting books anymore unless they’re novels I think I’m going to really make time for, and I do plan to read at least one review book a week.

3. Look for more crossovers. I find that I can’t read straight dystopians these days because they feel so repetitive, but maybe a historical “dystopian” might appeal to me more.

4. Come up with a running list of my own personal favourite novels from each genre. Over the holidays, I was asked for recommendations from various people, and there are so many novels that I often don’t know where to start. This’ll be an immense help once I get started.

5. Stop judging movie adaptations so harshly. I think this is a trap many of us voracious readers fall into, but it’s important to realize that the mediums are different and that direct adaptations just aren’t possible for many films. They each have unique aspects that you can appreciate independently of each other, and that only enriches the conversation about art and literature, which is the most important thing.

What are your bookish goals for 2013?

Categories: Top Ten Tuesday

Tagged as:

4 replies »

  1. #2. YES. I set out to read 20 debuts authors in 2012, and I read approximately 90 debut books. TOO MUCH. I got caught up in reading review books and just…stopped reading what – I – wanted to read. So this year I’m setting a goal like yours. 🙂

    My Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

