Show Updates

[Fantastic Five Friday] Five Favorite TV Weddings

So I have this really awesome friend named Anna, who runs her own television blog called The Weekly Enthusiast. She recently started a new meme, inspired by Top Ten Tuesdays, and it’s a great break from book talk!

This post wasn’t as difficult to write as my top five ships, mostly because I’ve had very good luck as a shipper lately and all my favourite couples have gotten married. (High fives all around!) So sit back and enjoy my rambling about these five gorgeous and amazing pairs.

SPOILERS AHEAD. You have been warned.

5.  Mary/Matthew (Downton Abbey)

“You came. To be honest, I wasn’t completely sure you would.”
“I’m glad to hear it. I should hate to be predictable.”

This won’t really come as a surprise to US fans, especially if you’ve been anywhere near Tumblr or Twitter the last two months. Mary and Matthew, dueling strangers at the beginning of Downton Abbey series 1, finally tied the knot after years of will-they-or-won’t-they tension. It was a funnier wedding than I expected it to be, and I liked the light, cheerful mood of the scene.

4. Nathan/Haley (One Tree Hill)

“It doesn’t mean that it hasn’t been hard or that it won’t be. It just means that I found a stillness and bravery in myself with you. You make me brave and I will love you until the end of time. This I vow today.”

When I first started watching this show, I was really torn about this pairing. I thought they were pretty foolish to get married at 16 years old, and while I hoped they’d make it, I think they needed to break up and grow up before they could try again. Seeing them get married (again) in season three gave the ship another chance to really be amazing.

3. Makino/Domyouji (Hana Yori Dango [Boys Over Flowers])

“What’s your dream?”
“It came true. I love you. Never part from me.”

(I had a very very hard time deciding on a .gif for this post okay. Just. Yeah.) I don’t even actually have words to describe how satisfying it was to see these two get married. Not even being stranded on a desert island for over a month could break their spirits. Also, they are just so very cute together.

2. Amy/Rory (Doctor Who)

“Together, or not at all. Changing the future. It’s called marriage.”

Amy and Rory’s wedding was the emotional heart of the Eleventh Doctor’s first series, as well as a central plot thread. It seemed like an impossibility until the very last minute, but that just made the actual event

1. Jim/Pam (The Office)

“I bought the boat tickets the day I saw that YouTube video. I knew we’d need a backup plan. The boat was actually plan C. The church was plan B. And plan A was marrying her a long, long time ago. Pretty much the day I met her.”

Jim and Pam’s wedding was the only one I actually waited years for, and it was so worth it. Of course, everyone needs to see the super adorable ceremony, but just the fact that they managed to pull it off still makes me really happy.

What are your favourite TV weddings? Let me know in the comments, or make your own post!

3 replies »

Leave a Reply

