Challenges

2012 TBR Pile Reading Challenge: August Wrap-Up Post

We all have those books. We buy them, win them, they’re gifted to us.. Then we put them up on a bookshelf and there they stay, collecting dust, waiting for the time when we’ll finally decide to pick them up.. 

Join us on a quest to dust off your TBR Pile and read all the books you’ve been telling yourself you’ll read next time you’ll get a chance.. This is your chance!
Summer is finally over, and with it comes school, snow and Santa! But before we start pulling out all the winter gear, here’s one last mini-challenge to tide you all over. After all, those summer memories will be a great comfort when we’re all huddled around a fireplace in December.

1. Pick a favourite character. It doesn’t matter if they’re from YA novels or general fiction.
2. Send them on vacation! What kind of places do you think your favourite character would have wanted to visit during the summer? What would they do? Would they have crazy adventures or stick to being tourists? Photos are encouraged! (But don’t forget to credit the original!)
3. Link your post in the comments and get an entry for a book of your choice from The Book Depository, plus an extra entry for the year’s giveaway!

Of course, if you link up reviews as well, you get an entry for each in the giveaway!

So who would I send on vacation? I would love to see Prince Kai bashing around the universe and exploring all the planets in our galaxy. I think it would be intriguing to see how he’d deal with culture shock and the different kinds of people and aliens that he would meet. And if I was allowed to pick another character, I’d have Cinder come right along.

Rules:

1. You must be signed up for the TBR challenge to participate. You can do that here on Evie’s blog!
2. If you linked reviews in previous months, you may not link them for this month. No cheating!
3. Anyone can win as long as TBD ships to you! We love international participants.
4. Challenge/monthly giveaway ends on September 30, 2012 at 11:59 p.m. Any entries posted after that date/time will not be eligible.

Link away!

5 replies »

  1. Forgive the silly question! Did you want us to link the reviews in our comment or am I blind and missing the linky thing? I wear glasses, so it’s always a possibility. :->

  2. Hello! This is my first month participating in the TBR Reading Challenge, and here are my reviews:
    http://doingittheopenway.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/northanger-abbey/
    http://doingittheopenway.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/the-abortionists-daughter/

    If I were to send any fictional character on holiday I would cheat and send two! I’d send Scarlett and Rhett away from the drama of the South (maybe to the Bahamas?) so they can re-fall in love and live happily ever after.

  3. Hey Angel! Gosh…it feels like forever since I liked up a reviews. So there maybe a few.

    Firstly, awesome mini challenge. I would take Ash from The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa show he the sights of the human world! I love to have dinner with him…la swoon!

    Here’s some of my reviews I hope I’m putting these in the right place ;
    Captive in the Dark by C.J Roberts – http://bookpassionforlife.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/a-review-for-captive-in-dark-seduced-in.html

    He’s So Not Worth it by Kieran Scott – http://bookpassionforlife.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/a-review-for-hes-so-not-worth-it-hes.html

    She’s So Dead to Us by Kieran Scott – http://bookpassionforlife.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/a-review-for-shes-so-dead-to-us-hes.html

    Hourglass by Myra McEntire – http://bookpassionforlife.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/a-review-for-hourglass-hourglass-1-by.html

    Eve by Anna Carey –
    http://bookpassionforlife.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/a-review-for-eve-eve-1-by-anna-carey.html

    Eternal Starling by Angela Corbett –
    http://bookpassionforlife.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/a-review-for-eternal-starling-emblem-of.html

    Hugs,
    Donna

  4. i tried to link up on the last day of August, but this post wasn’t up yet. I dropped by today, and see that it’s finally up, but I can’t find the Linky. I’d like to enter my URL. I know that the contest is over, but I’d like to link up. So how do I do it? Since you said the blog would be “on hiatus” until 10/6, I didn’t check back earlier. Do you think you could put the Linky back up? Thanks!! : )

Leave a Reply

