Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters Who Remind Me Of Myself Or Someone I Know In Real Life

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

I decided to split the list between characters that remind me of myself and characters that are spitting images of people I know, five each.

Angel’s Doppelgangers:

5. Elisa (The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson): God’s will. How many times have I heard someone declare their understanding of this thing I find so indefinable?”

Elisa is the part of me that is tangled up with religion and tradition. I believe in my Church, but I am extremely aware of all the human mistakes that have mangled its mission. Like Elisa, I want to make a difference, to matter not just as a Catholic, but as a person.

4. Lily (Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan & Rachel Cohn): “There are just lots of possibilities in the world…I need to keep my mind open for what could happen and not decide that the world is hopeless if what I want to happen doesn’t happen. Because something else great might happen in between.”

Lily is the hopeful side I keep quietly to myself. She’s also that part of me that thinks up mad pranks and makes reckless, silly decisions in the name of living life the way I think it should be lived.

3.Colie Sparks (Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen): “So I looked down the line at all my friends, knowing I would always remember this. And then I turned my gaze back up to the sky, and put my faith in that moon and its return.”

Colie represents all my insecurities brought to light. I’m no skinny minnie, and I was bullied all throughout elementary and middle school for being smart and Asian. I actually make it a point to reread Keeping the Moon once every year, so that I never forget the experiences that made me who I am now.

2. Keek (And Then Things Fall Apart by Arlaina Tibensky): “Existing is not quite enough. Passionate living is the best revenge.”

Keek is the introspective part of me that only comes out late at night. I like to talk everything out with myself, turning problems over and over again in my head and poking at every raw nerve I can find.

1. Mina (My Name is Mina by David Almond): “Writing will be like a journey, every word a footstep that takes me further into undiscovered land.”

Mina is the self I wish I could be all of the time: understanding, adventurous, perceptive and at peace with herself.

Literary Friends:

** Kaelyn(The Way We Fall by Megan Crewe): “You learn a lot when you know no one else is going to do things for you.

Kaelyn reminds me a lot of my best friend Aimee, in that she’s quiet and extremely introspective, but also a little bit silly. Aimee and Kaelyn also share an indomitable well of strength and heart.

** Cammie (I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter): “But I kept it to myself–maybe because I didn’t think it mattered, but probably because, in a place where everyone knew my story, it was nice to know there was a chapter that only I had read.”

My homegirl Jen B is exactly what I think Cammie would be like if she wasn’t a Gallagher Girl. Jen would be a kickass spy for sure, but she’s also a wonderful friend and an insanely creative writer as well.

** Chelsea (Past Perfect by Leila Sales): “What really happened doesn’t matter. What matters is how we agree to remember it.”

Chelsea feels like a younger version of Anna to me, in ways I can’t really explain here. Their optimism is just one of the many reasons I’m happy to have both of them in my life, even if Chelsea is just a fictional character.

** Mizuno Ami/Sailormercury (Pretty Guardian Sailormoon by Takeuchi Naoko): “The future is something you build by yourself.”

You want to know Meghan? Get to know Ami-chan. Studious, shy and incredibly loyal, Ami and Meghan are two halves of the same person.

** Ella Marino(The Fine Art of Truth or Dare by Melissa Jensen): “Love is one of the two things worth dying for. I have yet to decide on the second. It is most certainly not colorful fungus.”

Ella is, without a doubt, the literary character that comes closest to being just like my braintwin/sister Jamie. Again, I can’t really talk about all the personal reasons why, but suffice to say that reading TFAOTOD was like living inside Jamie’s brain.

Who are the characters that reveal new parts of your soul? Do any friends come to mind when you read certain books?

5 replies »

  1. Totally thought of you when I read The Girl of Fire and Thorns, though I feel like you’re more like her at the end of the novel than at the beginning. You’re also my Mina-chan and my Bex ❤

    <3333

  2. I swear this list is just reminding me that I haven’t read so many of these books. But of the ones I DO know, Lily, Colie, and Keek DEFINITELY remind me of you. And awww, I love you (even though I haven’t read The Way We Fall yet and have no idea who Kaelyn is). But everything you said about her made me teary and smiley and *hugs*.

    YES. Jen is TOTALLY Cammie (which is why her youtube Cammie heroine defense videos were perfect), and of course, there is no Ami-chan but Meg.

    (*reminds self to also read The Girl of Fire and Thorns and My Name is Mina*)

  3. Nice new theme! You may want to check out some of the images on the left sidebar. I like your picks for yourself, especially Elisa 🙂 Can’t wait for the sequel to TGoFaT!

Leave a Reply

