Guest Posts

[blog tour] Character Songs of Shadow and Bone

Welcome to the ninth stop on the official Shadow and Bone Blog Tour! I hope you’ve enjoyed the posts so far, and discovered some awesome new things about Alina, Ravka and the amazing Leigh Bardugo.

Today, I’ve asked Leigh to dig deeper into her S&B playlist and share some of the songs that helped to define her three main characters. Rereading the novel with these songs in mind definitely makes for a richer experience, so be sure to check them all out!

At my June 6th stop on Wondrous Reads, I talked about some of my go-to inspiration music for Shadow and Bone including “Winter Song” and Placebo’s cover of “Running Up That Hill” (and a few Slavic chorus shout outs). This is a slightly deeper cut—mini-arcs of songs that I associate with my main characters. In some cases, I linked to official videos, but in others, they just felt too distracting.

The Darkling

For me, the Darkling is all about the space between who he is and what he lets the world see. I think these songs could fit comfortably there.


(I had no idea this incredible video existed. Love it.)

Mal

Okay, so this may end up a little more agro than what people expect from Mal, but I think his journey is from boy to soldier to something more.

Alina

Alina spends a lot of Shadow and Bone fighting herself, but she has a fierce heart. Karen O’s wail is battle ready.

Thanks, Leigh, for sharing some truly remarkable compositions!

Want more Shadow and Bone? Comment below or on my review of the book with your email address and/or Twitter handle to win a finished copy or an audiobook! I’ll be picking winners at the end of the tour. (US/Canada only)

Monday, June 4: The Darkling

Tuesday, June 5: Favourite Writing Moments of Shadow & Bone (UK Blog Tour)

Wednesday, June 6: Shadow & Bone Playlist

Thursday, June 7: Review @ A Cupcake and a Latte

Friday, June 8: The Grisha Orders

Saturday, June 9: Review @ Overflowing Library (UK Blog Tour)

Sunday, June 10: Leigh’s First Stories

Monday, June 11: Interview @ Realm of Fiction (UK Blog Tour)

Wednesday, June 13: Gollancz’ Blog (UK Blog Tour)

Thursday, June 14: The Book Muncher

Friday, June 15: Book Chick City

Saturday, June 16: Karin’s Book Nook

Sunday, June 17: I’d So Rather Be Reading

Monday, June 18: Serendipity Reviews (UK Blog Tour)

Tuesday, June 19: The Fable Faerie

Wednesday, June 20: Willa’s Ramblings

Thursday, June 21: Once Upon a Bookcase (UK Blog Tour)

Friday, June 22: Cuddlebuggery

Saturday, June 23: The Hiding Spot

Sunday, June 24: Watercolor Moods

Monday, June 25: Falcata Times (UK Blog Tour)

Friday, June 29: MigMag (UK Blog Tour)

Watch the beautiful trailer, then check out my review!

Add Shadow and Bone on Goodreads | Follow Leigh on Twitter @lbardugo | Visit Leigh’s website and leave a comment on her blog

Order Shadow and Bone from Amazon | Book Depository | Chapters

22 replies »

  1. Seriously, that trailer is my favourite.

    And I am totally eyeing that audiobook.

    I think Gravity by Sara Bareilles would be a great Darkling/Alina shipper song. *nod nod*

    twitter: MegTao

  2. I loved the videos and trailer and your review. Can’t wait to get my hands on a copy. I especially enjoyed the sail video, very creepy!

  3. I really enjoyed all the videos. I love listening to author playlists. It really gives incite into the author’s mood while they were writing and makes you see their story in a completely different way.

    molly(dot)frenzel(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. This is an amazing book! Leigh Bardugo is a genius, the Ravka world is incredible.

    I love the trailer and songs:)

    Thanks so much, I’d love a finished copy!

    ccfioriole at gmail dot com

  5. THAT IS SO AWESOME! Ack! I am dying to read this! Thanks for hosting a tour spot and giveaway! I’ll take the Hard-back copy!

    hannahsue10[at]gmail[dot]com

  6. I keep hearing so many amazing things about this book! I’ve been following the blog tour and I’m just DYING to read it! It sounds totally up my alley!

    ashley (at) booknook (dot) me

  7. This book looks so good! I love those songs!! And I would love to win a hard copy! Thanks for the giveaway!
    lexie.bookbug at gmail dot com

  8. Pingback: The Archives

Leave a Reply

