Armchair BEA

[Armchair BEA 2012] Daily Post #1: Introducing…

Image created by Nina of Nina Reads

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

I’m Angel and I’m a 23-year-old writer and blogger. Last year, I graduated with a degree in Fine Arts and Creative Writing, and I’m currently taking publishing courses at Ryerson University here in Toronto.

I’ve been blogging for about seven years now, though much of that time has been spent on LiveJournal. Many of my closest friends are people I met through LJ, and they’re part of the reason why blogging is so important to me. I started Mermaid Vision Books as a way to keep my editorial and writing skills sharp, as well as find more ways to enjoy literature for all ages.

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012?

I’m currently reading My Family for the War by Anne C. Voorhoeve and Secret Letters by Leah Scheier. As for my favourite book of 2012 (so far), it would be a tie between The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman, both books that have spectacular prose and wonderfully drawn characters.

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.

I grew up listening to and watching musicals, and my favourites are the Rodgers & Hammerstein masterpieces, like Oklahoma!, Carousel and The Sound of Music. I’m really a huge musical geek, to the point where I can pretty much sing a line from any show to match any conversation. (I don’t usually do this, though.) I enjoy singing around my family and closest friends, though you couldn’t pull my arm hard enough to make me do it in public, with the exception of church choir.

What is your favorite feature on your blog (i.e. author interviews, memes, something specific to your blog)?

Right now, I’m madly in love with Seashell Reviews! These days, it’s getting harder and harder for me to find the time for blogging about books I don’t have to review, but I still find it extremely gratifying to talk about TBR books that I loved. Seashell Reviews has taken the pressure off writing paragraphs and paragraphs of a review, while continuing to give me a platform to comment on the strengths and weaknesses of a book.

Where do you see your blog in five years?

Five years is a pretty long time, and while I’d love to say I’ll be around in 2017, I don’t want to pressure myself and burn out within my first two years. There are lots of things I’d like to do over the next few years, and if they leave me with less time for blogging, it’s okay. That said, I do have tentative plans for some new features on the blog, and of course, I’ll keep writing about literature the way I always have. 

Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read?

I’m very proud of a post I wrote last July, called Harry Potter and the Girl Who Waited. It was hard to write, and an extremely emotional experience, but I’m happy it’s there to memorialize my time in the Harry Potter fandom.

If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?

As tempting as it would be to say J.K. Rowling, I would really love to have dinner with Melina Marchetta. I don’t harbor any illusions of becoming a brilliant writer like either of them, but I just want to be able to thank Melina for writing such beautiful and raw novels. They’re honest and brave in ways many authors can’t tap into, and they remind me to be strong.

What literary location would you most like to visit? Why?

The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman made me fall in love with Prague, and now I would love nothing more than to visit and follow Nora’s journey.

What is your favorite part about the book blogging community? Is there anything that you would like to see change in the coming years?

My favourite part of the book blogger community is the enthusiasm. It’s unrivaled in almost any circle of bookworms, and I’m always cheered by how much my fellow book bloggers love books and the people who make them.

I’d like to see less instances of plagiarism (which needs no explanation), and less cliques.

Have your reading tastes changed since you started blogging? How?

As strange as it may seem, YA blogging has made me appreciate general fiction a lot more. I’m 23, and as much as I love YA, I do feel like I’m outgrowing it. That’s not to say that YA is getting more childish or that it’s bad. It’s just my own natural progression. I’ll always appreciate the wonders that great YA fiction can do for children and teens, but it might also be time for me to move on.

Categories: Armchair BEA

Tagged as:

11 replies »

  1. Blogging actually brought me back to YA books, but I can completely understand what you mean by you’re outgrowing it. I think there will always be one or two YA books I’ll go back to. And a musical fan?! Oh I am so happy to hear that, I love my musicals, my favourite has to be MY FAIR LADY (I watch it with my dad, who loves musicals as well).

  2. Hi Angel! Isn’t LiveJournal great? I was semi-active on there for a few years, posting fanfics for an author that I was working for. Great community! Also, I think it’s really cool that you are taking publishing at Ryerson. I hope you are liking it! Can you believe I have yet to read a book by Melina Marchetta? BUT I do have Jellico Road out from the library – it’s going to be my next read 🙂 It was nice to “meet” you Angel, even though I follow you on Twitter. Have a great day, and ttyl!

    My introduction post 🙂

  3. Oh, great picks for 2012 so far. I have The Fault in Our Stars to read but haven’t done it yet! I’ve seen it meantioned several times today. I’m obviously missing out!

    We’re huge fans of musical movies too. Our favorites are by Baz Luhrmann: Romeo & Juliet and Moulin Rouge!. Fantastic movies.

    Here’s my Armchair BEA post for today!

  4. I understand feeling like you need to move on from YA – I actually was the opposite, reading primarily adult fiction before I started blogging, and now I am totally in love with YA. But I still pick up an adult book on occasion when I feel like a change of pace. Reading all one genre is too limiting!

    Nice to meet you! Here’s my Armchair BEA Intro!

  5. I didn’t know you wrote. That’s really cool, and that’s awesome that you’re taking publishing courses! 😀

    Oh, I love musicals! 😀 Yay for Oklahoma! 😀

    I agree that five years is a long time, and as soon as you say you’ll still be doing it for five years…you’d probably end up quitting. 😛

    Thanks for telling us a bit about yourself, Angel. It’s great getting to know a bit more about you. 🙂
    Ambur
    My Armchair BEA Introductions Post

  6. Ack, I’ve been trying to be online with you for a while now!! When will you be around? 🙂 I still need to read FIOS! I just finished WILL GRAYSON and started PAPER TOWNS, so I’m getting closer to being able to! Musicals, yeeeeees! The other day, I got excited when I saw Oklahoma! on TV, then sad b/c it wasn’t the Hugh Jackman version…er…and I was too lazy to get up and go over to my DVDs… I am going to a friend’s Tony Awards Party on Sunday and we have to dress up like a character we could never “be” from a musical. So, for example, I could never “be” a guy, so I’m going as Dr. Horrible, which is doubly awesome b/c NPH is hosting again this year! 🙂 I’m excited! Rather than outgrowing YA, I find myself falling back into it. There are some genres of it I’ve outgrown. I don’t read most of the high school novels, for example! But the fantasy? *swoon*

Leave a Reply

