Book Reviews

[review] Of Poseidon – Anna Banks

Release Date: May 22, 2012
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 324
Format: Hardcover
Source: ARC received from publisher

Galen, a Syrena prince, searches land for a girl he’s heard can communicate with fish. It’s while Emma is on vacation at the beach that she meets Galen. Although their connection is immediate and powerful, Galen’s not fully convinced that Emma’s the one he’s been looking for. That is, until a deadly encounter with a shark proves  that Emma and her Gift may be the only thing that can save his kingdom. He needs her help–no matter what the risk.

Tell Me More: If you’re at all familiar with this blog, then you know that my reactions to paranormal novels can go one of two ways: either I find many themes to criticize, or I love it unconditionally. Mermaids, not surprisingly, tend to be the combo breakers. My own fascination for the sea and its mysteries tends to colour my opinions in ways I don’t always see. Of Poseidon, while remaining a novel I enjoyed, does have some areas worth poking a finger into and seeing what comes out.

The scope of the novel is rather ambitious for a debut author, and I must commend Anna Banks for daring to rewrite mythology and fantasy to lay the foundations for her story. There aren’t many holes in the plot, and what holes exist seem to be questions that will be answered in the succeeding novels. Speaking of succeeding novels, I had no idea this was supposed to be a series when I read it, and the ending did catch me by surprise. I had fully set myself up for a standalone novel, and I will admit to moments of frustration near the end when it didn’t look like things were going to be wrapped up. If I had known there would be a second and third book, I might have been a little more forgiving toward some characters and plotlines.

That said, what Banks offers in this first installment is more solid than many debut novels. There’s no dancing around the big reveal of Emma’s ancestry, and though the way it plays out is a bit predictable for someone who has read so many paranormal novels, it is still fun to watch unfold. The entire story is extremely enjoyable and its lighthearted nature makes it an easy read as well. Banks is particularly gifted with zippy dialogue, which won’t come as a surprise to anyone who follows her on social media. I get the sense that there is a lot of Anna in Of Poseidon, from the laugh-out-loud humour to the sentiments and frustrations that Emma expresses. That extra nudge of author personality adds to the spirit of the novel in many ways. Despite the paranormal/fantastical nature of the story, it has a human heart and a very human joy, one that will please readers of all ages.

The Final Say: Surprising me with a knock-out mermaid story, Of Poseidon carries itself with grace and humour. Anna Banks is an author to watch and laugh with, as she merrily swims along.

About Anna

Anna Banks grew up in a small town called Niceville (yes, really). She now lives in Crestview, Florida, with her husband and their daughter. Of Poseidon is her debut novel.

Still curious about Anna and Of Poseidon? Be sure to read my Mermaid Month interview with Anna!

Add Of Poseidon on Goodreads | Follow Anna on Twitter @byannabanks | Visit Anna’s website

Order Of Poseidon from Amazon | Book Depository | Chapters

7 replies »

  1. This sounds really interesting and I love the cover.
    These days most of the books come in series – it’s both good and bad, good because there is enough time and paper space, bad because sometimes the action seems to drag too much and waiting for the next book to come out is such a pain.
    Didn’t get to watch the trailer, I’ll do that just after I hit the Post Comment button ;))

    Happy midnight reading!

  2. Wow, your review really has me excited all over again for this book. I’m getting more and more into mer-books and I’m very curious to see Anna’s mythos and writing style. Glad you liked it, Angel!

  3. I think this has been my favourite mermaid book so far. I found it a lot more original than a lot of the others I’ve read. I really liked the amount of history/detail she gave and you’re right the dialogue was great. Definitely going to start following her on Twitter if I can expect more of the same 🙂

  4. I definitely enjoyed the humour throughout this book, I need to follow her on twitter after hearing that she is like that. I like the idea that the author puts herself into a book like Anna does with Of Poseidon. I am excited to see what comes next (I didn’t know it was a series when I started either).

  5. My sister and I both read Of Poseidon and thought it was a fun mermaid book! The cover is so dark and mysterious, but the book didn’t seem to match it, to my surprise. The writing was easy to read… yet oh so additive. I’m really looking forward to seeing what will happen next in book two!

Leave a Reply

