life and times of angel

Mermaid Vision Books’ 1st Anniversary

“I’m a realist, I’m a romantic, I am indecisive and that’s about it.”

Today is the first anniversary of my official start as a book blogger. It’s a little strange to think that exactly one year ago, I got the crazy idea (crazy for me, at least) that anyone would be interested in what I have to say about books. To be honest, I did it out of boredom. But when I typed the name “mermaidvision” into the WordPress registration page, it just looked right. It felt like me, and I hope that what I’ve been able to show in the last 365 days on this website was worth the risk.

I realize that the things I write on this blog aren’t your typical reviews, and I don’t quite fit the mold of a book blogger. Receiving ARCs is nice, but it’s never been the focal point of what I do. I’d like to think that stories are more important than the casing they come in, and the story I’ve been writing this past year makes me really happy.

Boatloads of thanks go to my mom, for exclaiming “That’s a GREAT idea!” when I told her what I wanted to do with this blog.

Thanks to my early readers and visitors, including:
– Meghan
– Aimee
– Sammy
– Sam
– Jojo
– Jen B
– Helen
– Anna
– Whitney
– Thea

Thanks to the bloggers who helped me find my way around this giant playground:
– Katie B
– Melanie M
– Bonnie
– Sash & Em
– Kathy
– April C
– Megan
– Molli

Thanks to the remarkable ladies of the Ontario Blog Squad, for the community we’ve built and the amazing weekend fun:
– Nicole
– Evie
–  Jen W
– Liz
– Mel
– Jackie
– Wendy
–  Christa
– Michele
– Brenna
-Sara

and the entire group of Ontario bloggers for being such a kickass set of friends!

Thank you to the authors who I’ve been so lucky to get to know, not just as writers but as friends:
– Marissa Meyer
– Elizabeth Fama
– Anna Banks
–  Joanne Levy

And a super heartfelt thank you to the great publishing teams at Macmillan/Raincoast Books, Harper Collins CanadaScholastic Canada, Random House Canada, Simon & Schuster Canada, Penguin Canada, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and Thomas Allen Ltd. for taking a chance on my eclectic taste and always being willing to talk books with me!

I’ve had such a great year thanks to these wonderful people, and I’m sure I’ve forgotten some of you (this is why I shouldn’t write posts at 2 am XD), so if I have, THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART. Here’s to another crazy year of writing and reading brilliant literature, and the fun we’ll all have talking about it.

11 replies »

  1. Congratulations, Angel! You’re very sweet to mention me and it’s been great getting to know you and the other Ontario Bloggie Peeps, too – you’re all so aweome!

  2. HAPPY BLOG BIRTHDAY! Oh, happiest of birthdays! Your reviews just keep getting smarter and smarter…you’re just bursting with book brilliance, and I light up every time I see you’ve updated on my g-reader. I MUST FIND CAKE TO CELEBRATE WITH YOU

  3. Happy blogoversary! I was so happy when you started your blog– it was nice to have a friend to start navigating the book blogosphere with. I’ve loved reading your reviews and posts over the past year and look forward to more to come! ❤

  4. Congratulations on your first blog anniversary! You’ve done a fantastic job with your blog over the past year, and I’m constantly amazed by the time and dedication you put in to keep the site running. You deserve to be very happy and proud of your achievement!

Leave a Reply

