Seashell Reviews

Seashell Reviews [1]

 No time to track down full reviews of YA books? Seashell Reviews offers bite-size thoughts to let you know which books you shouldn’t pass up, and which ones you can hold off for another day. Original titled blog feature by Angel @ Mermaid Vision Books.

(Click the book covers for more information!)

A unique publishing concept that failed to draw me in. The photographs are gorgeous and the layout was impeccable, but the story (or lack of, I should say) was too big a hurdle for me to close my eyes and jump. While I am still interested in trying out books like Chopsticks, I do expect more than pretty photographs, and I’d love for the story to still be tangible without them.

 Ally Carter brings her A game to the 5th installment of the Gallagher Girls series, and the emotional impact will leave you as winded as running through an unknown forest with assassins after you. (Totally not a spoiler.) I laughed, I cried, I beat my favourite pillow to a pulp while rooting for Cammie. In a field full of girls that rely on superpowers or strong boys, Cammie stands out as a consistently powerful and clever heroine.

Try no to have too many expectations for this book, as that ruined the experience for me a bit. With comparisons to some of my favourite TV show heroines, Vee doesn’t quite make it up there, and I found the characterization a bit lacking. The supernatural aspect of the story is far more interesting than the mystery (I guessed the culprit 1/3 of the way in), and hopefully the next books will have more of that exploration.

4 replies »

Leave a Reply

