Show Updates

[Fantastic Five Friday] Five TV Shows I Love, But Didn’t Expect to Originally

So I have this really awesome friend named Anna, who runs her own television blog called The Weekly Enthusiast. She recently started a new meme, inspired by Top Ten Tuesdays, and since I LOVE this week’s topic, I figured I’d take a break from book talk and participate! Without further ado, my top five TV shows that I love, but didn’t expect to originally.

5.  Parks & Recreation
I literally only started this show on Monday and I’m already halfway through season 2. Aubrey Plaza is my queen.

 

 

4. Merlin

I have a love/hate relationship with the King Arthur legend, mostly because the Arthur/Gwen/Lancelot thing drives me up the wall. The BBC show is full of cracky goodness and please, don’t get me started on the (b)romance between Arthur and Merlin.

 

3. Fringe
 I’d heard a lot about this show, but I knew nothing about it. Does that make sense? Every time I brought it up, friends would just say “OH MY GOD WATCH IT JUST DO IT.” I had no idea what it was about going in, but it hooked me so quickly that I got through three seasons in three weeks.

2. Firefly
 Another classic that I didn’t catch until ten years after it left the air. I didn’t know what I was expecting when I started watching it, but it fulfilled all my dreams and much more. I still get sad every time I remember it’s been cancelled.

1. Miranda

There is no way I could explain this show to you and have it make sense, so here’s a video:

What are the TV shows that surprised you? Let me know in the comments, or make your own post!

9 replies »

  1. I made the mistake of watching the later season of Parks and Rec and now trying to watch the earlier season is boring to me because I’m only in it for the romance XD

  2. Haven’t seen Fringe or Miranda, but the other 3? Absolute <3.

    Parks & Rec – Trust me, April only gets better.
    Merlin – Haven't watched all of it, but *sigh* those boys.
    Firefly – I think I was one of the like 4 people who watched it when it was on the air. Out of order. Without the pilot. I'm STILL sad it's gone. You don't know how much epic longing there was before they released the DVD.

    Great picks!

    -geekgirl

  3. I love Firefly, as well. Every so often a “shiny,” will creep into my vocabulary. I’ve seen most of the episodes too many times to count, since either the sci-fi channel or the science channel do marathons rather frequently.

    AND FRINGE. EEEEP. I am behind on this season, but for some reason I do better when I watch seasons of Fringe (or big chunks of episodes) all together. So that’s what I’m going to do because…Peter/Olivia. ❤ ❤

  4. Oh, Merlin! I absolutely love that show. “In a land of myth and a time of magic, the destiny of a great kingdom rests on the shoulders of a young boy. His name…Merlin.” I’m a sucker for pretty much anything involving the King Arthur mythology, but I can see how you’d have a love/hate relationship with it, especially the whole love triangle. 😛 The best part of Merlin is totally the bromance though. 😛 haha

    I love Firefly, too! I’d heard of it for so long, and caved during the black Friday sales on Amazon to buy the series, so glad I did! 😀

    I usually kind of know what show I’ll like, so I’m rarely surprised at liking shows, but honestly, my guilty pleasure shows are Nickelodeon ones…I watch them on YTV. Big Time Rush, Victorious, iCarly, and Spongebob (although I don’t watch Spongebob as much anymore). I also used to love Danny Phantom…but it’s not on anymore. 😦 I kind of knew I’d like those though, I just like the cheesy jokes. lol

  5. Fringe!!!!!!!!!

    Also I am totally loving Merlin (just about to start Season 3) and the (b)romance between Arthur and Merlin. Not going to lie it makes me want to write all sorts of wonderful and romantic fan fiction. Also this show has totally inspired me to tackle writing a medieval fantasy (one day….)

  6. I’m with you on Fringe. I started watching it just because my dad watched it. I didn’t really love it but sometime during the 2nd season I became totally addicted to the show.

  7. Oh man, I love Merlin like woah. It’s such a fangirl squee type of show, haha. And yes x a zillion to Firefly. Definitely one of my favourite series ever.

Leave a Reply

