Anticipation

Pandemonium Club: Fan Playlist

About six months ago, I wrote a post on songs that remind me of books I loveDelirium by Lauren Oliver is just one of the books that I featured, and with good reason: Lena’s loveless world is a chilling look at what our own world could turn into. Pandemonium was difficult to read because Lena’s mind is tortured by her experiences. The playlist I created for this book is tempered by her, by the changes she never saw coming and a new future she could never have predicted.

After losing everything she holds dear, what is there left for her to live for?

why am I feeling so guilty? why am I holding my breath?
worry ’bout everyone but me, I just keep losing myself

Lena naturally finds it difficult to forget Alex–he is everywhere, in her vision when she fades out, in the sounds of the woods around her, in the very pulse of her heartbeat.

oh, you’re in my veins, and I cannot get you out
oh, you’re all I taste, at night inside of my mouth
oh, you run away, cause I am not what you found
oh, you’re in my veins, and I cannot get you out

She has to come to terms with a world that doesn’t care about who she is. She has to swallow the newness of herself, the Lena that Alex and Hana knew, the Lena she wants to be.

light a match in the dark now, see my shadow on the wall
doesn’t look too much like me, no it’s not like me at all

Lena is faced with a new variable, someone whose life she could change with one flick of her hand or a careless word. She can make him a weapon or a casualty. She can do it all over again.

I am a lion burned by a dragon, mad at the world and the things that it’s hiding
we were the old souls, dirt, grass and water turned blue

But then something happens that Lena could never have seen in her future.

like a river flows so surely to the sea
oh my darling so it goes: some things are meant to be

and I raised my hand as if to show you that I was yours
that I was so yours for the taking
I’m so yours for the taking

But something always changes. It’s just the way of life, and of amor deliria nervosa. Just when you think the world has settled, that peace can start–it shifts once more.

I die each time you look away
my heart, my life will never be the same
this love will take my everything
one breath, one touch will be the end of me

And so it goes. Where will Lena run to next?

you turn, turn, turn, turning me on
like a slow fire burn, I know that it’s wrong
still I run, run, run, run right into you

Need more Pandemonium in your life? You can read my review, or check out any of the other Pandemonium Club posts from my fellow bloggers!

Monday, February 27: Delirium audiobook review at Esther’s Ever After
Tuesday, February 28: Pandemonium release! Review at A Cupcake and a Latte
Wednesday, February 29: Fan Playlist for Pandemonium at Mermaid Vision Books
Thursday, March 1: Hana novella review at Christa’s Hooked on Books
Friday, March 2: Interview Lauren Oliver at The Savvy Reader
Should you decide to visit the other four Pandemonium Club posts, there’s a little special something in it for you: a chance to win copies of Delirium AND Pandemonium! Just comment with your email address on any or all of the posts, and you’re entered! That’s one entry for each comment, so commenting on all five posts=five entries. Canadian residents only, as this giveaway is sponsored by the awesome Harper Collins Canada team.
13 replies »

  1. Awesome playlist – I totally love some of these songs.

    It’s great that it reflects Lena’s feelings:)

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    ccfioriole at gmail dot com

  2. WOW! Based on your playlist ALONE, I would want to read these books. You have exquisite, alternative, indie, and lyrical musical taste! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this playlist for the books. The music itself is stand-alone, wonderful. I now, can get a “feel” of what these books may read like. Dark, haunting, sad, yet passionate. We have the same taste in music. I love it!

    Wonderful work! I REALLY, REALLY enjoyed this post. You have a beautiful blog!

    P.S. I love mermaids…

    (Now, I really want to WIN!!!)

    Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez
    Email: zgarcia(dot)alvarez(at)gmail(dot)com
    On Twitter: @ZaraAlexis

Leave a Reply

