life and times of angel

You Know You’re a Book Nerd When…

The always awesome Christa reblogged a post today about things that let you know you’re a book nerd. Naturally, I couldn’t resist adding to that short list.
  • Your favourite books have tearstains because you couldn’t stop crying long enough to get a tissue (or three).
  • You own multiple copies of your most treasured books: one for lending, one for your own use and one for display behind a glass door.
  • You love talking to publishers!
  • You can have dinner with fellow readers and not notice your food because you’re too busy talking about a book.
  • You run out of space on a bookshelf a week after you bought it. (True story.)
  • You have songs that remind you of your favourite books. (Bonus points if you have them all in one playlist!)
  • You “fight” over book boyfriends with fellow readers.
  • Your family and friends don’t give you books on your birthday/Christmas/other holidays because “you have too many already!” (Again, a very sad true story.)

Want to add to the list? Tell me how “you know you’re a book nerd!”

Categories: life and times of angel

Tagged as:

9 replies »

  1. Oh God so many of these are too true – particularly forgetting about my food, fighting about book boyfriends *cough* Alex *cough* and not getting books as presents (who are they too say I have too many! I’ll say when it’s too many!)

    I’d also like to add I have a book stashed in every room of my apartment so there’s always something to read and that I have a compulsive need for my books in a series to match. Even if I have to search high and low for the same edition.

  2. I know I’m a book nerd because whenever I go anywhere I panic that I wont have enough books to last….fortunately solved by the kindle (though now I panic the battery will run out…) I definitely fight over book boyfriends ALL the time!

    The Cait Files

  3. A couple of mine are:

    -Avoiding phone calls from friends who might try to drag me out when I’m in the middle of a good book
    -Asking for a bigger bookshelf for my birthday

    Sure there are more, but those are the ones that spring to mind first 🙂

  4. Um, I have a notebook in my purse with a book list. It is sorted by author first, then genre and finally title so I can check before I buy a new one so I don’t duplicate before I decide I love it enough to need a second copy for loaning.

  5. The last one kills me! My family/friends are exactly like this! Around Christmas time, it’s always “we have no idea what to get you .. you don’t want anything except books!” … I don’t see why this is a bad thing lol. Us booknerds think books are the best gifts of all! Write a small inscription and voila — we are happy as can be =).

    Great list!!

Leave a Reply

