Camp Wordsmith

Camp Wordsmith: General Update [3]

For the next year, Christa (Hooked on Books), Jen (Almost Grown Up) and I will be posting about our writing adventures. We’ll be checking in every Saturday with our word counts and story updates, as well as discussions on craft and inspiration. If all goes well, we may even have novels ready for revisions and beta readers by the end of the year!

Week 6

Word Count: 3000

Total Word Count: 7200

Stage: Writing/revising outline

It’s been a crazy month so far, but I’ve never been happier with my story! I’ve found that it takes a little while for me to really get into the swing of a story, and I often have to work past the glee of the first chapters, which will sound strange.

One thing I’ve learned about my own writing style is that it’s never good at the start. Never. I’ve never been able to write a first chapter that I absolutely loved a few months later. Regardless, I love writing the story itself, and I like finding ways to work past the initial suckitude of the beginning. Some of those ways are:

– playlists (hence my 16,000+ songs on iTunes)

– dreamcasting

– Tumblring pretty pictures

– reading my favourite quotes

Okay, let’s be real, those are probably pretty lame. But they get the job done, and they’re resulting in a story that I can’t wait to finish!

Don’t forget to check in with Christa and Jen today, too!

Categories: Camp Wordsmith

Tagged as:

3 replies »

Leave a Reply

