Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: A Special Romance Novel Edition

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

So I love romance novels. Before 2009, I was one of those people that rolled her eyes at the half-naked men and women on the covers, with titles like Seduce Me at Sunrise (real title!). Then a friend of mine threw down the gauntlet and gave me her four favourite romance novels, with the promise that if I didn’t like them, she’d never talk about them with me again.

I’m a graceful loser.

1. Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas

While he’s not my favourite hero, Sebastian St. Vincent was the first romance novel hero that actually made me feel something. Evie, the innocent girl that he agrees to marry, is awesome and never lets the reader doubt that she could survive without a man. I have yet to hear from ANYONE who’s read this book that they weren’t sold on romance novels after the fact.

2. Mine Till Midnight by Lisa Kleypas

Yeah, I’ve got two Kleypas books on the list. Amelia Hathaway is my favourite heroine EVER. She’s devoted to her family, but she can also tear you a new one. Cam Rohan is the stuff dreams are made of, y’all. In fact, he reminds me of a certain “prince”…

…I’ll be here when you get back from buying this book.

3. The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn

Quinn is my favourite romance novel author. I just want that out there.

This is actually the second book in the Bridgerton Family series, but it was the first one I read and loved unconditionally. Kate and her family are so kind to one another and you can feel that love in every scene. Anthony is exactly the kind of son every mother would hope to have, but he’s also a wonderfully enchanting rake. Together, they are absolutely perfect. (I dare you not to pick up the other seven books, after all the scenes with the Bridgerton children in this one.)

4. Practice Makes Perfect by Julie James

Contemporaries! I’m really quite picky when it comes to contemporary romance novels, because they can get unrealistic very quickly. I’m also not a fan of simpering women in contemps, because hello, it’s the 21st century. I prefer my heroines BAMF-y and with vibrant personalities. James’ law-firm romance was hilariously snarky, sexy and awesome. And that ending! I laughed so hard my roommates thought I was going insane.

5. Vision in White by Nora Roberts

The Bride Quartet series is the only set of Nora Roberts books that I have ever touched, because the rest of them are too cloyingly sweet for my taste. I love weddings, so is it any surprise that I adored this group of best-friends-slash-wedding-planners? Vows is AMAZING, and I loved the detail.

6. Love to Love You Baby by Kasey Michaels

I know, I know–that title! You haven’t even seen the cover yet. This was the very first contemporary romance I ever read, and I have a special place in my heart for Jack, Keely and Candy. I cracked up laughing on almost every other page! It was just pure fun. Also: wrestlers, smartass babysitters and a “Mafia” uncle.

7. Lady Isabella’s Scandalous Marriage by Teresa Medeiros

I love Scottish guys. Seriously, I could come up with another Top Ten list just for Scottish dudes. I loved how Isabella was like a mini-Lady Violet Crawley, and Mac’s artistic side was wonderful to see.

8. An Affair to Remember by Karen Hawkins

Another series that surprised me! This one’s about a family whose mother leaves them an heirloom ring that she believes will find them their true loves. Anthony and Anna were brilliant together. I’m also a sucker for little kids and a grandfather that help out with the matchmaking.

9. How to Marry a Marquis by Julia Quinn

Yeah, two Julia Quinns, and this one won me over from the first page. I loved it so much that I bought copies of it for my best friends. Not only does this novel have my second-favourite fictional James, it’s also got a heroine that values her integrity and family above all else.

10. The Bride and the Beast by Teresa Medeiros

Scottish boys are LOVELY. This reinterpretation of the classic fairy tale pushed all my buttons, guys. It was sweet, it was funny, it was honest.

Do you read romance novels? What are your favourite swoony moments?

Categories: Top Ten Tuesday

2 replies »

  1. Great list! I’ve only read Again the Magic by Lisa Kleypas, but I absolutely loved it! I’ll definitely be reading more by her and agree that she’s probably great for people who normally don’t read romance.

    I think I may need to check out some of the others you’ve mentioned. 😀

Leave a Reply

