Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday [3]: YAngelism At Its Best

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books I’d Recommend To Someone Who Doesn’t Read YA Fiction

I’m doing this meme in two parts this Tuesday: one for YA fiction and one for romance novels.

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

If Twitter reactions are anything to go by, this book has made both adults and kids cry. Green has always had a gift for the teenage voice, but in TFIOS, he takes a risk in writing about a dying child. Nerdfighters are familiar with the girl who helped to inspire the story, Esther Earl, and I think she would love Hazel’s journey to be more than her illness.

2. Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

I’ll admit that the cover turned me off this book for a few years, but when I finally sat down to read it, I was pleasantly surprised. Jessica Darling is an unforgettable voice, and readers will enjoy seeing her grow up in the succeeding books. Perfect Fifths, the last novel in the series, is set on a pivotal day in 20-something Jessica’s life, marking the last crossover from YA into adulthood.

3. Shine by Lauren Myracle

Shine was nominated for a National Book Award last year (and really should have remained so), and for good reason. The story of a town’s barely stifled hatred and fear is powerful and Myracle’s writing comes alive on every page.

4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Bring this book anywhere and watch as passers-by do a double take at that cover. Riggs offers readers a child’s-eye view of history and the people (or are they?) it forgets.

5. The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

When I started reading this book, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. Cam’s abrasive attitude rubbed me the wrong way, and I couldn’t quite immerse myself in her story. Thankfully, I stuck with it. Like The Fault in Our Stars, Miracles is about a girl with cancer and the meaning she strives to return to her life.

6. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

The Scorpio Races never felt like a YA book. Maggie Stiefvater’s deft hand guides the story of two teenagers in a race to the death into a breathtaking conclusion, and her study of human nature is honest and poignant.

7. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Graceling is YA fantasy (and feminism) at its best. If you haven’t read it by now, you’re missing out.

8. Going Bovine by Libba Bray

Reminiscent of James Joyce’s Ulysses, this story of a boy with mad cow disease will enchant, disgust and induce tears in even the most stoic reader.

9. Stolen by Lucy Christopher

There aren’t many times you can say “this book changed my life.” I was never the same after reading Stolen.

10. Hate List by Jennifer Brown

I wish schools would adopt this book into their curriculum. School shootings are always hard to read about, but Brown’s careful prose guides readers into this painful story.

What are the top ten books you would recommend to non-readers of your favourite genre?

Categories: Top Ten Tuesday

Tagged as:

3 replies »

  1. I LOVE this week’s topic. I might have to jump on the TTT train later today because of it. And your list– so many that are HIGH up on my TBR. I actually bought TFIOS last week (like half the world). And I’m pretty excited that The Scorpio Races are the FYA book club pick for Feb… AND I’ve got a library hold to read Graceling. The others… I’ll just have to wait until I catch up a bit on my TBR!

  2. Awesome list! You included a few that I should have added to my list =) I recommended Lauren Oliver’s books to my sister-in-law, who doesn’t like YA because the love stories are too tame for her taste, and she loved both Before I Fall and Delirium! Love your blog — and will be popping by again for sure!

Leave a Reply

