Book Reviews

[review] Fracture – Megan Miranda


Release Date: January 17, 2012
Publisher: Walker & Company
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover
Source: Personal copy

Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine —despite the scans that showed significant brain damage. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she’s far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can’t control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it?

Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she’s reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy’s motives aren’t quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening?

Discovery: The first time I heard about this book, it was being compared to If I Stay by Gayle Forman. I hadn’t read that book yet, but I was interested, and when I finally got to read it, I became even more nervous about Fracture. Thankfully, all my fears were put to rest.

+    Characterization. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from Fracture’s Delaney Maxwell. The cover copy made her seem untouchable, one of the popular girls whose life changed in an instant. I doubted that I would actually like her, despite the hook of the story. Delaney surprised me, not just with an inner strength that made me admire her, but a concrete desire to be a good person. Sure, we can throw around words like “flawed” and “struggling,” but neither of those words can encompass the full spectrum that is Delaney Maxwell. She’s a girl who doesn’t quite know what to do with herself, but she never tries to bring others down. She is introspective and stoic, but she is also afraid. Miranda captures all of the contradictions of the teenage existence in one voice. She made me want to be Delaney’s friend, and that is the greatest compliment I can give a character.

+     Writing style. To best illustrate my point, allow me to quote from the book itself–

“I hadn’t known that a light could be a feeling and a sound could be a color and a kiss could be both a question and an answer. And that heaven could be the ocean or a person or this moment or something else entirely.” 

Megan Miranda’s writing style is deceptively simple. These two sentences may not have any SAT words, but when you read them aloud? Pure music. Too often, we see writers that try to impress readers with their extensive vocabularies. Language is powerful when it is used sparingly, giving each word the power to knock a reader off their feet. Fracture is full of beautiful paragraphs and lines that you don’t realize are strong until you actually shed a tear without knowing it. (I cried on the subway. No lie.)

+     Friendship. Where have all the friendships in YA gone? Many of the books I read today showcase friends who are fun to read about, but not really realistic. They’re all so witty and snarky and I get that teens want that smartass (excuse my French) attitude, but let’s be real. Friendship is also about the quiet moments. Decker and Delaney are not only Best Friends Forever, they are also the best friends FOR each other. They care for each other deeply, and they are not afraid to say “You’re being a jackass, stop it” to each other. That requires bravery and strength, and they both make the story worth reading.

The final say: What else could I possibly say? Fracture is a book I’ll be talking about to every reader I meet.

Rating: Excellent.

Be sure to visit Megan Miranda at her website and follow her on Twitter @MeganLMiranda.

You can check out Fracture on Goodreads and order it over on The Book Depository.

3 replies »

  1. I’m glad to hear you loved this one Angel! I’m definitely going to be checking out this one when I get the chance. Love your review, glad to hear this is one you’ll be talking about a lot.

Leave a Reply

