Book Reviews

[review] The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight – Jennifer E. Smith


Release Date: January 2, 2012
Publisher: Poppy
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 236
Format: Hardcover
Source: Finished copy received from Hachette Book Group Canada

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. She’s stuck at JFK, late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s in seat 18C. Hadley’s in 18A.

Twists of fate and quirks of timing play out in this thoughtful novel about family connections, second chances and first loves. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.

Discovery: This was a case of puppy love–the photograph used on the cover has been on my wall since 2008 and when I saw it on Goodreads, I added it to my TBR pile without even reading the synopsis.

+    Characters. Hadley might just be one of my favourite YA protagonists ever. She’s quirky and smart, and dare I say it, almost a hipster (which I loved). She is a force of change in the story, which is refreshing because none of that potential involves supernatural abilities. In fact, each character is on the edge of something great: Charlotte and Hadley’s father are getting married, her mother is getting stronger and Hadley herself is growing up. Enter Oliver, who makes her stop to reconsider how she’s growing up. The two of them are the brightest lights in this story and make it worth reading.

+     Romance. Remembering one’s first love is all too easy when you read this book. Hadley and Oliver are both vulnerable souls, but so very brave. It isn’t often that love requires courage to even exist, and these two teenagers remind us that sometimes taking a chance is exactly what we need to restart our lives. From the very first time they see each other at the airport to the final scene, Jennifer E. Smith takes readers on an exhilarating flight of their own through Hadley and Oliver’s tangled 24 hours.  Call me crazy, but I loved that anxious last-20-pages feeling! I was clutching my pillow and slowly rocking back and forth, hoping that they’d finally get together. I don’t always finish YA romances feeling like my world would be a little dimmer without that adorable couple, but that’s exactly how I felt reading this book.

The final say: I laughed, I cried and I fell in love many many times over the course of this novel. Read The Statistical Probability of Falling in Love at First Sight for the sweet romance, but stay for characters that will live in your heart for years to come.

Rating: Excellent.

Be sure to visit Jennifer E. Smith at her website and follow her on Twitter @JenESmith.

You can check out The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight on Goodreads and order it over on The Book Depository.

3 replies »

  1. Oh wow, the premise of this book is something that really appeals to me (especially since I have a thing for airports–that, and the boy’s British! XD). I’m really tempted to check it out!

Leave a Reply

