life and times of angel

2011 End of Year Book Survey

The totally-awesome Jamie aka The Perpetual Page Turner is hosting the 2011 End of Year Book Survey once again! My answers are below, but I’d love to see your own survey, so don’t forget to link me!

1. Best Book You Read In 2011?

The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan. I’m always looking for new ways to tell a story, and Levithan’s dictionary entries were both creative and revealing. We try so hard to define the world around us that we sometimes forget that the simplest definitions are often the closest to our hearts.

2. Most Disappointing Book/Book You Wish You Loved More Than You Did?

Supernaturally by Kiersten White. After the hilariously awesome Paranormalcy enchanted me, I was so excited for the sequel. Sadly, I found myself less than eager to finish the book. Here’s hoping Evie and Lend bring it for Endlessly!

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2011?

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls #1) by Ally Carter. I’ve had this book for a while now, but the cover turned me off a little (I know, I know!). In March, I finally forced myself to sit down and read it–I came out after an hour and a half, completely in love with Cammie and her smarts.

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2011?

It’s a tie between Delirium and The Hunger Games. I’m currently 8 for 20 with Delirium, but almost everyone I forced to read The Hunger Games has picked it up. There was actually a week in March when all 35 girls on my dorm floor were reading it: you knew what part/book they’d gotten up to by the volume of the enraged screaming.

5. Best series you discovered in 2011?

The Theatre Illuminata series by Lisa Mantchev. I love Shakespeare and I love faeries, so can you blame me for being utterly enchanted by Mantchev’s books?

6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2011?

This is a tricky one, since a lot of my favourite new authors’ books don’t come out until 2012. Anna Banks, Elizabeth Fama, Lisa Mantchev, Jess Rothenberg and Arlaina Tibensky have all been so sweet and fun to talk to on Twiter and through emails. Sarah Porter, Michelle Zink and Brenna Yovanoff are inspiring.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma. It’s a book about incest, which is already a powerful dealbreaker for a lot of people, but Suzuma blurs the lines between right and wrong and love so masterfully that it’s hard to judge.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2011?

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. I sped through this book in a matter of 90 minutes and immediately wanted to reread it.

9. Book you most anticipated in 2011?

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. I didn’t realize that Anna would turn me into an obsessed fan, but once I heard that there was going to be a companion novel, I freaked out and put it down on my reading list.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2011?

Let’s be real, that cover made you do a double-take when you first spotted it on shelves. Eye-catching and creepy, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children has one of the most intriguing covers of the last few years. Thankfully, the story in between the covers is just as amazing.

11. Most memorable character in 2011?

Cricket Bell from Lola and the Boy Next Door. As I said in my review of the book:

You know how Belle from Beauty and the Beast sings “I want so much more than they’ve got planned?” This was my tune while waiting for Lola. I wanted someone more than just a pretty British boy who’s also an artist (though I do seem to have a weakness for them). I wanted Stephanie Perkins to surprise me, to make me want to get to knowanother dreamy fictional boy, especially since I don’t seem to be lacking in them lately. Cricket was everything I could ever want and more. He’s an inventor! He helps his figure-skating sister! He studies star charts! There may not be enough exclamation points in the world for me to keep going. This is why I love Stephanie Perkins’ characters: they’re never exactly who you think they are.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2011?

Stolen by Lucy Christopher. My heart still aches at the memory of some of those quotes.

“I can’t save you like that Ty. 

What you did to me wasn’t this brilliant thing, like you think it was. You took me away from everything – my parents, my friends, my life. You took me to the sand and the heat, the dirt and isolation. And you expected me to love you. And that’s the hardest bit. Because I did, or at least, I loved something out there. 

But I hated you too. I can’t forget that.” 

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2011?

And Then Things Fall Apart by Arlaina Tibensky. I don’t come across these kinds of books often, but when I do, they are unforgettable experiences. Keek is one of my favourite heroines of YA fiction, and the sad part is, no one seems to have noticed her kooky and insightful ways.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2011 to finally read?

On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. SERIOUSLY guys, how was I that obtuse? Jellicoe Road rightfully deserves its place as one of the best YA novels ever written.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2011?

It’s a tie between:

“I love you. Remember. They cannot take it.” – Delirium, Lauren Oliver

and

“You talked to me, but you didn’t. I could see you having these two-sided conversations. The things you wanted to say to me. And the words that actually came out.” – Where She Went, Gayle Forman

16. Book That You Read In 2011 That Would Be Most Likely To Reread In 2012?

The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg. I loved that giddy feeling while reading it for the first time, and it’s a great pick-me-up.

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

Delirium by Lauren Oliver. I’ve since forced everyone I know to read it, and with one exception, I’ve been on the receiving end of tears, recriminations and curses. Nothing can prepare you for that ending.

Looking Ahead…

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2011 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2012?

The Beginning of After by Jennifer Castle. I’ve heard wonderful things about it!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2012?

Black Heart by Holly Black. I might not talk about it much, but her Curse Workers series has dug its little claws into my brain and refused to let go. I can’t wait to see what happens to Cassel and Lila.

3. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2012?

I’m hoping to be more organized. Having a spreadsheet/calendar of DOOM has helped, but I’d like to get things done more efficiently next year. I’m also working on MAYBE hitting 300 books for 2012~ After all, if the world’s ending, I should punch a huge dent into my TBR pile.

1 reply »

  1. Delirium. *sobs a little* That book left me kind of broken. I need Pandemonium (and Alex) in my life. And Angel! I LOVE your story about all the girls reading THG. My cousin is reading the books now, and I once (no joke) convinced a stranger in a book store to buy the first book. *nods proudly*

    I loved your survey. I’m going to go check out a couple of the books you mentioned that are new to me!

Leave a Reply

