Off the Bookshelf

Off the Bookshelf [11]

Off the Bookshelf is a post dedicated to the books I’m currently reading, and will go up every Tuesday here on Mermaid Vision Books.

This week, it’s all about contemporary YA!

A few friends have recommended Saving June by Hannah Harrington, and I was really intrigued by the musical connection to the story. Lately, it seems as though a lot of YA authors are tackling issues of grief and I’m eager to see what Harrington’s take on loss and death will be like.

Francisco X. Stork’s Irises is also intriguing: the bonds of sisterhood and family are put to the test in this haunting story. I’ve never had a sister, so this will be an interesting experience.

What are you reading this week?

2 replies »

  1. I’ve never heard of either of those books, so I’m looking forward to seeing what you think of them (like my reading list needs to be any longer DX)

    This week I’m reading Germinal by Émile Zola, Evelina by Frances Burney, Tom Jones by Henri Fielding, and Clarissa by Samuel Richardson…or at least that’s what I need to finish reading for my exams…

Leave a Reply

