life and times of angel

An Ode to NaNoWriMo

I haven’t talked about it much on my Twitter/blog, but I did NaNoWriMo for the sixth year in a row, and this time? I actually won.

It feels weird to be typing those words here, since this is mostly a book review blog. I didn’t make a conscious effort to avoid talking about my writing, but it’s turned out that way. The last three years of my life have been all about writing (I graduated with a degree in creative writing), and I think my brain wanted to take a break from that. I’ve spent the last year learning about my identity as a writer and I think it shows in this project.

While I have been writing daily for the last seven months (I graduated in March), NaNo was the first time I’d actually started a new project, albeit a really sloppy and crazy one. I love the pace of NaNo, even as I curse it for not letting me get any sleep. I love that it forces me to turn off that dreaded inner editor and just write. And most of all, I love that it teaches me to believe in my own words.

I’m going to revise this book. How can I not believe in it? I can already see a January of bleary-eyed revisions and lots of hair-tearing. But for now, I’m going to stare at that word counter for another ten minutes and soak in the awesome that is winning NaNoWriMo.

The prologue from Dead Hearts (working title):

            When I was five years old, I killed my first faery.

            The way Nan Beth used to tell it was hair-raising, in the way only a world weary elder can terrify you. The tiniest details become the skeleton of it, pushing truth aside to the farthest corners of your mind. Until even I began to doubt that it had just been an old doll, with moveable arms and legs and neck, adorned with spiked wings and a mouth of silver grins. I had slammed it down in a temper tantrum when my father refused to give me a pony for my birthday.  I can almost remember the screams.

            If I stare long enough at my palms, I can still see the glimmer of blue-grey faery blood on my skin.

Creative Commons License
This work by Angeli Cruz – Mermaid Vision Books is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

5 replies »

Leave a Reply

