Mermaid Month

Guest Post: A Boy and His Greek Gods

Mermaid Month’s been all about the ladies recently, so I thought it’d be nice to hear from a boy who likes stories of the sea. My younger brother AJ’s stopped by to talk about the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan, and why he would recommend it to readers of any age:

As a kid, my mother introduced me to the world of Greek mythology. Every time I heard the name Hercules or Zeus or Poseidon, my attention went straight to it. Now if you put mythology in a book, mix it together with modern day story about a teenager fighting his way through hordes or monsters, you can only imagine my enthusiasm to read it.

It was my mom (yes, again) who bought the first book of Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, The Lightning Thief, for me. I fell in love with it at once. Despite my long history of hating books, this one was an exception. The fast-pace of each chapter kept me awake at nights just trying to find out what happened next and believe me I did not sleep until the end.

The characters of the story were well-developed throughout the series and provided much entertainment even during the long dialogue, which by me is a good quality in the book. Percy, despite being arrogant and insecure, showed much optimism in the face of overwhelming odds which almost reflects my own attitude in more than one way. Annabeth was one of my favourite characters due to her level-headedness and ability to bring Percy back down to earth when he needs to be. Grover provided much of the entertainment for me. Being the loyal, trusty, laid-back, dorky, and scared of everything friend, you can’t help but love him.

I can’t seem to think of my favourite part in the series, mostly because the entire series was great. It was well written and a truly enjoyable part of my childhood. I would recommend this series to people of all ages who love exciting adventures, fierce battles and can-eating satyrs. It was truly a great series.

 Thanks for dropping by, AJ!

Have you read the Percy Jackson series? Did you love it as much as we did or was it just not your cup of tea? Tell us in the comments!

6 replies »

  1. I have to admit I saw the first movie before I read the books. I guess because I was too old for their middle grade demographic when they came out… it was the same thing with Harry Potter. But YES, I am now a huge fan. I loved these books, and I think I might like the Heroes of Olympus books even more. I love the humour in them and how they can appeal to everyone from kids in elementary school all the way up to adults.

Leave a Reply

