In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox [17]

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren where we can show off all the books that we bought, borrowed or got for review during the week.

For review:

Why We Broke Up, Daniel Handler (Harper Collins Canada)

Immortal City, Scott Speer (Penguin USA-Razorbill)

Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor (Raincoast Books)

From NetGalley and Random House:

The Book of Blood and Shadow, Robin Wasserman

Cross My Heart, Sasha Gould

The Gathering Storm, Robin Bridges

Received:

From Random House Canada‘s Trick or Tweet giveaway:

Zone One, Colson Whitehead

From Michele:

The Duchess, Amanda Forman

Marrying Up, Jackie Rose

From Sonia Gensler‘s Halloween giveaway:

The Revenant, Sonia Gensler (with sticky notes!)

Blood Magic, Tessa Gratton

Hereafter, Tara Hudson

From Gwenyth:

Ashes, Ilsa J. Bick

Bought:

The Bermudez Triangle, Scarlett Fever and Key to the Golden Firebird, Maureen Johnson

Hush, Hush, Becca Fitzpatrick

Clockwork Angel, Cassandra Clare

Unearthly, Cynthia Hand

The Lady Most Likely, Julia Quinn/Eloisa James/Connie Brockway

Sea Change, Aimee Friedman

The Space Between, Brenna Yovanoff

Shine, Lauren Myracle

Uncommon Criminals, Ally Carter

And Then Things Fall Apart, Arlaina Tibensky

Shatter Me, Tahereh Mafi

Smoke and Mirrors and Fragile Things, Neil Gaiman

Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Naoko Takeuchi

Erm…yes, I went on a birthday splurge. But to be fair, I bought most of these at BMV for mere pennies. ^_^

What’s in your mailbox?

Categories: In My Mailbox

Tagged as:

31 replies »

  1. BMV is definitely now on my top 5 for used book stores. Too bad Toronto is so far away to go shopping regularly in for me.
    Happy belated birthday!!

  2. OMG that’s a lot of bought books! 😉 Hehe..
    And yay! Thanks for linking up my blog (tho I think it’s missing the http: part..?)

    I can’t even remember which one you bought when we were out the other week! lol.. so many new great reads 🙂

  3. I see a few books I need in those photos! If that’s the ARC of WHY WE BROKE UP, I have to say I was disappointed to see my friend’s copy (which I haven’t read yet): Maira Kalman hardly finished any of the illustrations by the time it was printed. There were only a handful of images, with a ton of placeholders in brackets, like this: [movie ticket stub]. No one will be able to review the marriage of illustrations and text from the ARC.

  4. Awesome haul! I got Hereafter and Unearthly this week too, and the Lisa Kleypas sounds great. I’m a total sucker for Christmas books.

    My IMM is here if you’d like a look 🙂

  5. All the books… all the books… I think I’m going into a book coma! Lol! I look forward to your review of the Book of Blood and Stone. I thought it looked like a really interesting read (not that the others didn’t look interesting as well)

  6. I am literally drooling as I look at your loot – there are so many awesome books here, I couldn’t just choose one as a favorite – so here are a few that I’m dying to have as well:

    Smoke and Mirrors and Fragile Things, Neil Gaiman – simply because it’s Gaiman
    Shine, Lauren Myracle – with all the fiasco that has happened with NBA, I’ve been meaning to get my hands on this book.
    Hush, hush – I’ve read a number of good reviews
    Your Halloween loot also looks luscious.

    Lots of books to read!!

    Here’s my IMM:
    http://wp.me/pDlzr-2iD

  7. Amazing haul! “Shatter Me” was beyond beautiful! And “Hush, Hush” is a 50/50 toss up for people when reading it. I say ignore what others have reviewed and read it. Going into read it open minded is the best 🙂

  8. You had such an amazing week! I think Nicole is rubbing off on you 😉
    I can’t wait to hear what you think about Why We Broke Up…I ❤ Lemony Snicket/Daniel Handler. Also I am so jealous you got Zone One! I'm dying to read that one!

  9. I don’t know if you’ve read any of the books you purchased previously, but I really enjoyed UNEARTHLY and SEA CHANGE and UNCOMMON CRIMINALS! I still have to read SHATTER ME and pick up the second SAILOR MOON (and SAILOR V!). Can’t wait! And you have a ton of other great titles as well!

Leave a Reply

