Guest Posts

Guest Post: A Girl and Her Goosebumps

In the spirit of Halloween (only four days to go!), I asked the lovely Wendy of A Cupcake and a Latte to talk about hre favourite childhood ghost stories. She and I both grew up in the 1990s and her choice will definitely send all our fellow 90s kids into happy clouds of nostalgia. Take it away, Wendy!

R.L Stine Haunts My Nightmares

Angel from Mermaid Visions happily approached me about writing a guest post about my favorite child hood ghost stories. Now, thinking about ghost stories from my child hood has always led me to one significant thought- R.L Stine. In fact, I even had the opportunity to meet him once!

My love for R.L Stine’s young horror novels started off with the TV show, unfortunately. I was immediately enamored by it’s creepy goodness, the ability it had to pull me in as a helpless victim and then scare me senseless. It was then that I knew I had to try out his extensive series of creepy novels.

Nightmares – I must have had hundreds of them! There were ones about Slappy, the haunted ventriloquist dummy, and the man eating sponge *shivers*. Either way, no matter the subject of horror that he used in each novel, I couldn’t shake off the sense of adrenaline I got. That is, perhaps, one of my absolute favorite things from reading his novels. I’m happy to have had R.L Stine’s novels as a part of my child hood, especially in playing such a big part in the aspect of ghost stories.

How about you?
What novels or writers inspired some of your most gruesome nightmares?
Are you still terrified of a particularly creepy crawly?

How about having your own R.L.Stine Halloween? Dive into some of my favorites:

Escape from the Carnival of Horrors
Welcome to the Wicked Wax Museum
Shop Till You Drop…Dead!
Night of a Thousand Claws
All-Day Nightmare
Weekend at Poison Lake
Trapped in the Circus of Fear
 

Happy Halloween, everyone!
May it be a safe one filled with lots of delicious candy =)

 About Wendy: Mocha is a 22 y/o book lover from Canada with a passion for reading young adult novels, pink frosting covered cupcakes, and strong lattes. In her free time, she enjoys blogging about her favorite reads and enjoys communicating with other fellow bloggers.

You can find her on Twitter, Facebook and Goodreads!

3 replies »

  1. I love Wendy’s blog! And as for R.L. Stine… his books scared the bejeesus outta me as a kid, I could even make it through one because I’d wind up terrified halfway through.

    (I had the same problem with the Are You Afraid of the Dark? TV show back in the day1)

  2. @Jen
    Thank you!

    RL Stine is my absolute favorite childhood author. I still dive into his novels from time to time, they are fantastic!

    Thanks for having me stop by, Angel! The post looks incredible! =)

  3. Yay, I love Wendy’s guest post! It’s a neat topic too 🙂

    I actually didn’t read very many scary books when I was younger- but I did read all those articles of real life crime stories. All the really creepy, disturbing serial killer ones. And THAT was a bad idea because I got the worst nightmares from those! But it always felt so fun at the time.. and fascinating in a really dark and scary way.

Leave a Reply

