Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday [4]: Eye Candy (now with photos!)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books That Whose Titles Or Covers Made Me Buy It

1. Wither by Lauren DeStefano

I bought this book in April on a whim. I’d originally only wanted to purchase Darkest Mercy, but for some reason, I picked Wither up too, despite having heard nothing about it before I stepped into the bookstore. The cover was intriguing though, and I liked the colour scheme. Fast-forward six months and I still reread passages just to soak in Lauren DeStefano’s genius.

 

 

 

2. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

On November 22, 2007, I walked into National Bookstore in Quezon City, determined to spend ALL THE BIRTHDAY MONEY (!!). Sadly, I didn’t find anything worth my cash until I started digging through to the furthest corners of the bookshelves. A copy of Wicked Lovely was stuck in between two stacks of New Moon and I fished it out. That week, I read WL a dozen times.

 

 

 

3. Heist Society by Ally Carter

Look at Kat. Doesn’t she seem like she’s just daring you to try to find out her secrets?

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

I love this title. I could write sonnets about my love for this title, and entire symphonies about the series. Whose hands? Whose teeth? Those questions aren’t easily answered even if you make it to the end.

 

 

 

 

 

5. How They Met (and Other Stories) by David Levithan

I’ve read almost all of David Levithan’s stories, but only after much convincing by plot summaries and reviews. This was the first book I read on the title’s merit alone, because who wouldn’t want to know what those “other stories” were?

 

 

 

 

6. Sea Change by Aimee Friedman

I don’t usually like couples on covers, but the colour scheme is gorgeous and I like the wordplay in the title. This was the book that got me started on my love for selkie folklore.

 

 

 

 

 

7. Impossible by Nancy Werlin

I’ll tell you guys a secret: I HATE the original hardcover. It just didn’t appeal to me at all and doesn’t say much about the story either. I wanted to read this book so badly, but I put it off until I could find the paperback, which is much prettier in my opinion.

 

 

 

 

8. The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson

I didn’t know about this book before I saw the paperback, which is probably a good thing. The original hardcover wouldn’t have caught my eye as much as the paperback cover did. I love the care the designer took to match Jenna’s physical features.

 

 

 

 

9. All Unquiet Things by Anna Jarzab

I wasn’t too sure about the plot of this book, but the cover and title convinced me that it would be one worth following. One of the things I liked most about the title was how much it sounded like a line from a poem.

 

 

 

 

 

10. Living Dead Girlby Elizabeth Scott

I have yet to meet a person who isn’t instantly hooked by this title. I’ve had to field questions like “so it’s about zombies then?” but that’s worth getting this book out there.

 

 

 

What are the top ten books you bought or read based on the cover/title alone?

Categories: Top Ten Tuesday

Tagged as:

3 replies »

  1. So many gorgeous covers! I love Wither, and the sequel Fever as well.Jenna Fox is really eye-catching too. And I love how dramatic the cover for Forest of Hands and Teeth is. I definitely get sucked in by a great cover!

Leave a Reply

