Uncategorized

TGIF [4] | Follow Friday [5]

Banned Books: How do you feel about the censorship of the freedom to read? Do you think the education system needs to be more strict on what children are exposed to in books?
 
I fully support the right of every child to read whatever he or she wants. That said, I also expect parents to be there to guide their children. My parents were never able to keep up with my reading habits–mostly because I read too many books–but they made it very clear that I could go to them if I had any questions or needed clarification/explanations of what I was reading. They also made it clear that my age was the only barrier to certain books–once I read my teen years, I was free to read anything I wanted. They trusted me to know what was good and bad, and that what I read is fiction, not real life.
 
As for the educational system, I don’t think they need to be strict. I went to a Catholic school and we were given books like The Giver and To Kill a Mockinbird and Catch-22. Let’s be clear here: it’s the person, and not the book, that commits crimes or ruins other people’s lives.
 
This week’s Follow Friday question is:

What book that hasn’t been turned into a movie (yet) would you most like to see make it to the big screen, and who would you like cast as your favorite character?

No question, I would die on the spot if this was turned into a movie. However, the second part of this question makes me want to curl up in my sock drawer and cry for days because I am always always always devastated by the actual casts of book adaptations. You don’t want to know what I was like when Josh Hutcherson was cast as Peeta in the Hunger Games movie. Trust me when I say that my Twitter feed was full of tears and angry keyboard smashes.

If I had to cast someone, I would choose Francisco Lachowski to play Alex Sheathes.

 

Yes, I know he’s a model, but I honestly can’t think of any actors that could fit the role. I wouldn’t mind an unknown being cast, as opposed to someone who’s just all wrong but is a big movie star.

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: ,

9 replies »

  1. I haven’t read Delirium yet (it is glaring at me from my bookshelf) but boy do I feel your Peeta casting pain. I just can’t even think about it….he’s all wrong. I don’t know if anyone would live up to my expectations of him but Josh definitely isn’t it.

  2. I was randomly scrolling through your blog just because… but now I’m positive that you’re my perfect blogging lil sib because of your choice of Francisco Lachowski. I LOVE HIM.

Leave a Reply

