Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer & Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Since I haven’t finished the books yet, I figure this would be a great way to celebrate two awesome book birthdays! Mara Dyer has taken over my brain and Daughter of Smoke and Bone is creepily fascinating too.

 I tested the water with my finger. Nothing happened.

 Of course nothing happened. It was only a bathtub. The pictures had distracted me and I let it overflow, then turned it off without remembering it. Everything was fine. I plunged my arm in.

 For a second I could not think. It was as if all feeling beneath my elbow had been cut off. Like the rest of my arm had never existed.

Then the scalding pain clawed at my skin, my bones, inside out, outside in. A soundless scream misshaped my mouth and I struggled to pull my arm out but it wouldn’t move. I couldn’t move. I crumpled against the side of the bathtub. My mother found me there an hour later.

 

I know, I know! But how about a hot little snippet to make you feel better?

 

Noah opened the door all the way and I tried to compose myself. This changed nothing. Nothing at all. Noah Shaw was still a whore, still an asshole, and still painfully out of my league. This was my inner mantra, the one I repeated on a loop until Noah tilted his head and spoke.

“Are you coming in?”

Yes. Yes I was.

 

 “I have a new job,” he said. “It starts early.”

“What, you’re doing morning vampire tours?”

“Not that. Something else. An…unveiling of sorts.” He was grinning now. Gloating. He wanted her to ask what his new job was.

She wouldn’t ask. With perfect disinterest, she said, “Well, have fun with that,” and walked away.

Kaz called after her, “Don’t you want to know what it  is?” The grin was still there. She could hear it in his voice. 

“Don’t care,” she called back, and went through the gate.

 She really should have asked.

 

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Daughter of Smoke and Bone are both available in your local bookstores, Amazon.com and Book Depository starting today!

Leave a Reply

