Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday [2]: Blogger Recs

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books I Read Because of Another Blogger

Note: I read a lot. Like, ten books a week is normal for me. That said, I don’t often remember who recced a book unless I talk to this person irl A LOT or I wrote it down somewhere. Most of the books on this list were recced or talked about on MULTIPLE blogs.

1. Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway

I picked up this book on the recommendation of my awesome soul sister Helen Kiaya! She used to have a book blog and I remember hearing about this book ALL THE TIME.

2. Perfect Fifths by Megan McCafferty

Around January 2010, I kept hearing about a certain Marcus Flutie everywhere I went on the internet. Little did I know that that name would hook me into a series that I adore.

3. Matched by Ally Condie

If it hadn’t been for the hundreds of bloggers typing madly away about how gorgeous this book was, I would never have picked it up. Thank you to Melissa Marr, who sent me an ARC!

4. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Again, the power of some amazing marketing. Between all the early reviews and ARC giveaways, I was excited for this book MONTHS before it came out!

5. The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

I picked this book up because of Kristi‘s review. Turns out it wasn’t my cup of tea at all, but I’m glad I tried it out anyway.

6. Heist Society by Ally Carter

I can’t remember who exactly recommended this to me, but whoever it was, I WANT TO HUG THEM FOREVER. It makes me sad whenever I see this book on the bargain shelves at Chapters because it’s SO GOOD but so underrated. Ally Carter deserves more credit for writing such a vibrant and witty series.

7. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Yes, my first encounter with John Green’s work happened because of bloggers. In fact, I was actually annoyed because everyone just talked about him all the time. I finally decided to bite the bullet and bought this book. Within the first hour, I was mentally taking back everything I’d ever said. I’ve since turned into a Nerdfighter. Thanks, John.

8. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I first heard about this book in 2008, but I didn’t read it until 2010. Believe you me, I don’t regret that decision at all, mostly because I’m glad I didn’t have to wait too long for Mockingjay.

9. Divergent by Veronica Roth

My memories of the internet in April and May are coloured by this book, which was EVERYWHERE.

10. Across the Universe by Beth Revis

I read the first chapter of this book on a blog and was blown. Away.

What are the top ten books you’ve read because of bloggers?

Categories: Top Ten Tuesday

Tagged as:

4 replies »

  1. actually, most of these I read through reading about on the blogs too. I’d say over half of the books I read are because I was intersted in them from some website. I dont’ read as many as you do though, holy hannah, that’s a lot of books!

    I would recommend Supernaturally if you liked the first one. It’s also a fun great read. Now I’m off to go look up Heist Society

Leave a Reply

