Uncategorized

TGIF [1] | Follow Friday [2]

Books to Television: Which books would you love to see made in to a TV series? or movie?

That’s not a real movie poster, but isn’t it amazing regardless? I’ve wanted to see the Gemma Doyle series as a film ever since I read A Great and Terrible Beauty. Gemma, Felicity, Pippa and Ann are some of my favourite female characters and Kartik is definitely the stuff that dreams are made of. In fact, he’s one of the few characters that I’ve never dreamcast, because I can’t think of any actors that can do him justice.

Wouldn’t it be amazing to see the Realms in all its beautiful horror? I think it would take a truly talented director to keep a tight hold on this story that seems too big for its pages. It’s a passionate series, one that can’t be told carelessly.

This poster has my own personal picks for casting the Spence girls, though it’s not my own work (credit goes to x-Lirie-x on Deviantart). If you had to cast Gemma, Felicity, Ann, Pippa and Kartik, who would you choose?

 

This week’s Follow Friday question is:

Have you ever wanted a villain to win at the end of the story? If so, which one?

The Thinkers of Elana Johnson’s Possession come to mind. I spent much of the novel wishing they would capture Vi and put an end to the confusing mess that was Vi’s struggle to get away. I know we’re supposed to see them as controlling dictators, but I never really felt like they were horrible people. If anything, the vitriol that she spews about them seemed unnecessarily harsh, since we barely have any world-building to fall back on or refer to when it comes to their policies.

Categories: Uncategorized

10 replies »

    • Oh I know, Sweet Far Thing was a huge book. Dreamcasting always scars me–I was pulling for Hunter Parrish to be cast as Peeta and when they cast Josh Hutcherson, I was really bitter. Still am, actually. :/

  1. Sorry but Reese Witherspoon is to old to be playing a character that is supposed to be 16 years old. Same with Alexis Bledel.

Leave a Reply

