Uncategorized

Sing Me a Story: Theme Songs for Books

This morning, I was going through my Reader when I found this post by Reading Lark on music/noise while reading. I personally love having music on 24/7, but it takes on a different dimension when I’m reading. I’m so used to listening to music while I read that I tend to attach songs to the story or characters.

For example, Delirium by Lauren Oliver will always and forever be tied to the song “Run” by Matt Nathanson. Go on, have a listen and tell me it doesn’t fit Alex and Lena’s story perfectly.

You turn turn turn, turning me on, like a slow fire burn, I know that it’s wrong. 

Still I run run run, run right into you.

Two days ago, I was rereading the last chapter on the train when this song started playing on my iPod. I won’t lie, I cried a little bit.

Lucy Christopher’s Stolen comes alive for me in the song “Set Fire to the Rain” by Adele.

Sometimes I wake up by the door–that heart you caught, must be waiting for you.

Even now when we’re already overI can’t help myself from looking for you.

I was truly heartbroken after reading Stolen and Adele’s lyrics seem to embody Gemma’s own internal conflict and heartache.

When I think of Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr, “She is the Sunlight” from Trading Yesterday becomes Seth’s theme song.

And if loving her means heartache for me, and if holding her means I have to bleed…

She lives in a daydream, and I don’t belong. She is the sunlight, the sun is gone. 

Brenna Yovanoff’s delicate narrative in The Space Between calls for Regina Spektor and her song “Samson.”

You are my sweetest downfall, I loved you first, I loved you first.

I can’t talk about why this song fits so well without posting spoilers, so you’ll have to trust me and listen to the song after you pick up the book on November 15.

Of course, I can’t write this post without including the song that started this trend for me: “Always” by Switchfoot as the theme song for Megan McCafferty’s Perfect Fifths.

Hallelujah, I’m caving inHallelujah, I’m in love again.

Hallelujah, I’m a wretched manHallelujah, every breath is a second chance.

Can’t you just imagine the airport on Jessica Darling’s birthday, Jessica running to catch her flight and Marcus seeing that fateful sign?

Lastly, I’d like to share the THREE songs that never fail to play in my head when I think of The Hunger Games:

Katniss:

Baker baker, baking a cake

Make me a day, make me whole again.

Peeta:

So we lie here in the dark, all the wrong things on fire

In sickness and in healthto be with you, just to be with you.

Finnick and Annie:

What if I went and lost myself? Would you know where to find me?

If I forgot who I am, would you please remind me?

Oh, cause without you things go hazy.

Do you link songs to books too? Let me know in the comments! I’d love to discover some new music, and I hope you found something new to sigh over too.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

