Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday #1: Sequel Fever

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Sequels I’m Dying To Read 

1. Pandemonium – Lauren Oliver (March 6, 2012)

I don’t think I even need to explain this.

2. The Fox Inheritance – Mary Pearson (August 30, 2011)

The Adoration of Jenna Fox was one of my top books of 2010. I didn’t know that there was going to be a sequel until April of this year, but the news made my day. I definitely want to know more about the world Jenna lives in and how she adjusts once she knows how she’s been changed.

3. Fever – Lauren DeStefano (February 21, 2012)

My love for the Chemical Garden trilogy wasn’t immediately apparent, but rather it’s grown since I first read Wither in April. Rhine and Gabriel are two of the most compelling characters I’ve encountered this year.

4. Enshadowed – Kelly Creagh (January 17, 2012)

Did I ever mention my adoration for Nevermore and its Poe-tastic plot? I grew up reading Edgar Allan Poe, and this series pushes all my lit geek buttons.

5. Lola and the Boy Next Door – Stephanie Perkins (September 29, 2011)

Stephanie Perkins is now the answer to that undying need we feel for a light, romantic read. I can’t wait to see how Lola’s story develops and I’m especially pumped to see Anna and Etienne again!

6. Black Heart – Holly Black (April 3, 2012)

Technically, this isn’t a sequel as it’s the third and last book in the Curse Workers series, but my anticipation is just as strong. Lila has become one of my favourite characters, even though we don’t know that much about her, and I hope that Black Heart can wrap up her story with some vital bits of information.

7. Out of Sight, Out of Time – Ally Carter (March 20, 2012)

I hope the Gallagher Girls series never ends! I wasn’t expecting to like the books when I first read them in May, but after I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You, I zoomed through the other three books in one weekend.

8. A Beautiful Evil – Kelly Keaton (February 21, 2012)

Darkness Becomes Her wasn’t a perfect novel, but it did set up a story that intrigued me enough to want to keep reading. I have faith that Kelly Keaton’s second book will be a tighter and more controlled read.

9. Prized – Caragh O’Brien (November 8, 2011)

I would say the same thing about Prized–Birthmarked‘s pacing and writing style left me a bit disappointed, but I loved the story and would like to see more of that horrifying world.

10. A Million Suns – Beth Revis (January 10, 2012)

And to round off the triumverate, Beth Revis’ sophomore effort hopefully won’t leave me yearning for more concrete to stand on in Godspeed. I liked Across the Universe well enough, but it lacked that certain je ne sais quoi that I gravitate towards in dystopians.

What are the top ten sequels you’re dying to read?

Categories: Top Ten Tuesday

Tagged as:

11 replies »

    • Nope, they’re there! They both live in San Fran now, remember? And I’ve seen reviews of Lola where they’re mentioned as making an appearance. 🙂

  1. Awesome list! A lot of great sequels coming out soon, and Pandemonium not soon enough! Think you will love Lola and be happy with the amount of Anna & Etienne. I still need to read Jenna Fox, especially now that there is a sequel. Hope you enjoy all the sequels on your list.

  2. Great list! I’ve got so many of these books on my list too- Pandemonium, Fever, Enshadowed, and A Million Suns. I can’t belive I left Lola and the Boy Next Door off my list. I’m definitely looking forward to that one too.

    New Follower!

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday

    Kristan @ Lost Amongst the Shelves

Leave a Reply

