Follow Friday

Follow Friday [1]

Follow Friday is sponsored by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.  Over on Alison Can Read the featured blogger is Once Upon a Prologue. This week’s question is:

If you could change the ending of any book (or series), which book would you choose? Why and to what?


SPOILERS ABOUND!

I would pick a book I haven’t reviewed for this blog, Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott. I read it about two years ago and it was one of the most painful and heartwrenching novels I’ve ever encountered. Without giving away the ending, I will say that it was horrible, in the sense that no hope was left for the reader. Much of the book is spent sympathizing with Alice and rooting for her to break out of the situation she’s in, but I’m not satisfied with the ending she receives. I can see why Scott chose to end it the way she did, but it was disappointing to know that Alice never really gets her life back. There are those who may say that even if the police had rescued her or whatever happy ending we can think of happens, all of the changes wrought in Alice are irrevocable. While I’m inclined to agree with them, I do think that they’d also nod their heads when I say, quite frankly, it sucks. I really wish Alice had been given more of a chance, and I keep girls like her in my thoughts always.

Leave me a link to your Follow Friday posts so I can read your answers! 🙂

Categories: Follow Friday

Tagged as:

12 replies »

  1. OMG! I just read the summary for this book at goodreads. That’s terrible. I don’t think I could read this book. I would have nightmares for years.

    Happy Friday! Old follower visiting
    My FF post

  2. I just realized you don’t have Google friend Connect, which is what I use to follow people 😦 I see you’re using WordPress.com – if you move to wordpress.org you can have google friend connect and customize the site to your hearts content (from what I’ve been told on wordpress.com you have to pay for every change you want to make?) I recently moved from blogger to wordpress.org and I really love it and highly recommend it. My friend Bex @ Kindle Fever helped me move and she’s great at site stuff. Or you should put up an RSS feed for people too, I don’t generally follow people by email.

    • Thanks for the advice! I’m definitely considering moving to WordPress.org but I need to figure out how I’m going to pay for hosting first. If it’s okay with you, could I possibly ask you and Bex for help when I get around to setting up the site?

      • Oh, I just saw this! Thanks for mentioning me, April. 🙂 And of course, feel free to ask for help or if you have questions before as well, like with good sites to buy domain from! I’m all for helping as well as I can. 🙂

      • Oh yeah feel free to ask us! We love to help people move over to .org – it’s seriouslyt SO much nicer, and it’d be great to move over before you get too established here. probably the sooner the better. I felt sort of rude leaving that comment after I posted it, but I feel so bad for everyone on .com having to pay for every little thing like customising, when they could go to .org and pay the same (or less!) for hosting and be able to do every thing they want to! 🙂

        But definitely keep us in mine, my email is myshelfconfessions@gmail.com and Bex and I are best buds, so we keep talk every day, so we’re always around if you have any questions or need help with anything! 🙂

Leave a Reply

