Show Updates

Sailing on the S.S. Chloe King

Most of the TV shows I watch are ones that I hear about from friends or family members. I don’t usually pick a show up right after hearing about it, though, I like to wait until there are more episodes and critical feedback. So far, the only exception to that rule is The Nine Lives of Chloe King.

This past weekend, my best friend Aimee spammed Twitter with a live feed of her watching the show with her sister. I’d heard of the books through ABC Family’s marketing campaign, but it didn’t really appeal to me. For one, I’m very much a dog person–cats and I don’t get along. I figured that if Chloe was turning into a cat, the show wouldn’t be that interesting to me. I was wrong.

I watched the available nine episodes in a span of twelve hours (including sleep). Believe me, I still have no idea how that happened. I certainly didn’t wake up Sunday morning thinking I’d get hooked on a show that quickly.

For those who’ve never heard of the show, The Nine Lives of Chloe King is about a sixteen-year-old girl who discovers that she is a descendant of the Mai, an ancient race born of Baset, the cat goddess. She’s not just any old descendant, however: she is the Uniter, a warrior who will have the ability to stop the centuries-old war between humans and Mai. Admittedly, it sounds a little campy and it kind of does tread into that territory. Chloe King‘s got two things working for it though: great actors with complex chemistry and humour.

But let’s get real. I can pinpoint the exact reason I sat up and took notice of this show within the first episode. Can you spot that reason in this photo?

Grey shirt, smiling eyes and messy blond hair? That’s Benjamin Stone as Alek Petrov, one of the first two Mai that Chloe meets and the first actor since Darren Criss to give me trouble breathing upon first sight. The chemistry between Skyler Samuels (Chloe) and Benjamin is a live wire on the screen. They seem most comfortable when they’re around one another and the scenes they’re in together are always memorable.

The relationship that seems to spring up almost immediately between Chloe and Alek is hampered by Brian Rezza. I’m quite firmly on Team Alek, if it comes to that. At least with Alek, there’s no chance of killing the person you love with a kiss. Plus, it’s just plain fun to watch the banter between Chloe and Alek, two very stubborn teenagers who are just trying to figure out what they want in life.

In fact, that’s the basis of the show’s appeal to me. I watch a lot of heavy drama–Doctor Who and The Vampire Diaries regularly break my brain–so I’m always looking for something fun and light to enjoy. Chloe’s relationship with her mom is one of mutual respect and trust, which makes their interactions a joy to watch. Her best friends Amy and Paul play off each other wonderfully, bringing comic relief and support into Chloe’s life.

Granted, the season finale pulled my jaw down so fast, it still aches. I also have some very strong words for whoever decided that a certain Chloe/Alek scene should be the last one of the season. But I definitely won’t be complaining about boredom or cliches. Ten episodes just isn’t enough to whet my appetite and I really hope that it gets renewed for a second season.

1 reply »

  1. I love Benjamin Stone (understatement of the century), Alek, Chalek, this freaking show, and I TOO INVESTED IN IT. If it isn’t renewed, I don’t know what I’ll do. Other than wallow in my Chalek black hole forever. *goes to re-stream it on ABCfamily.com because it HAS to be renewed*

Leave a Reply

