Mermaid Month

Mermaid Month at Mermaid Vision Books!

I’ve been tossing this idea around in my head for a while now, and Dystopian August over at Lenore Applehan’s blog was a big influence. I’ve decided to make November, my birthday month, MERMAID MONTH.

This blog’s almost four months old, but I have yet to read and review a book about mermaids or other sea elementals. This is not to say that I haven’t read any, just not recently. A few days ago, Lost Voices by Sarah Porter came into my library so that’ll definitely be a feature during the month. The last one I read was actually Sea Change by Aimee Friedman and I read it over a year ago.

So here’s where all of you come in: I would love suggestions of books/authors I can feature during this month. The books don’t have to be about mermaids per se–it can be about sea monsters, selkies and other faeries of the sea, sirens, Atlantis, et cetera. Basically, they all have to be centered around the sea and its mysteries. For example, Melissa Marr’s short story Love Struck, a delicate little narrative about the myth of the selkie, would count. My only restriction is that they have to be YA novels or short stories to be featured. I would love suggestions for general fiction/fantasy novels, but I don’t think I’ll have time to really focus on them during the month.

If you know any authors who are particularly fond of these creatures or the setting, please send them my way as well! I’d love to chat with writers about their inspirations and personal takes on the legends and myths of the sea. I really appreciate any help that’s offered, as this is my first time doing anything as big as this. Looking forward to your suggestions!

8 replies »

  1. I actually was going to suggest Love Struck by Melissa Marr! Great minds…

    The only other ones that comes to mind are the Ingo series by Helen Dunmore (read the first one of that one fairly recently, it was decent) and The Forbidden Sea by Shiela Nielson (also read recently, really enjoyed it). I reviewed both on Page Turners Blog, but I don’t think the Ingo review is up yet. Both deal with the Mer. If I come across anymore or any others spring to mind I’ll be sure to let you know!

  2. I’m sad because I can’t think of anything. The closest to a sea related book I can think of is Girl at Sea by Maureen Johnson, and that doesn’t really fit the bill. A long time ago I read a book called The Music of the Dolphins by Karen Hesse, and that’s probably a bit closer to what you’re looking for, but I also think it’s for a younger audience. And then there’s Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex by Eoin Colfer, which I assume is about Atlantis, but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. It’s possible there are some sea creatures in that though because there is a large faery aspect to that series.

  3. Hi Angel,
    I have just written a YA Fantasy book about a 16 year old girl who becomes the world’s only mermaid. You can read samples on my blog here at wordpress: thenewmermaid.wordpress.com. If you like what you read, I’ll share the whole book with you!
    Thanks,
    Dorothea Emery Duenow

  4. I’d like to also suggest Fins are Forver, the sequel to Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs and Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs. Both were very wonderful books.

Leave a Reply

