Off the Bookshelf

Off the Bookshelf: August 16, 2011

Off the Bookshelf is a post dedicated to the books I’m currently reading, and will go up every Tuesday here on Mermaid Vision Books.

This week, I’ve got a mix of the supernatural and the dysfunctional. It should be interesting to see which books will capture my imagination faster.

 I’ve heard a lot about this book, but until recently, I thought it was about a usual starcrossed romance. Then a more careful reading of the summary on Goodreads alerted me to the fact that it wasn’t just any old star-crossed romance, but one that sprang up between a brother and sister.

I don’t usually read books about incest, but I trust the people who told me that Tabitha Suzuma’s writing style is worth the possible squick factor of the subject matter. This should make for an eye-opening experience.

 Some of you may have noticed a pattern with the short story collections that I’ve been reading lately. I’ve made it my mission to read all of Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling’s anthologies, as they are two of the most important names in urban fantasy and faery tale retellings.

As you might be able to read on the cover, this particular collection is “provocative…nightmarish…disturbing…compelling.” I love each of those words and I love what they stand for. Not too sure if I’ll be able to read these stories at night, but I can’t wait to sink my teeth into them.

 

 The last ghost story I read was Haunting Violet by Alyxandra Harvey, and while it made for an entertaining read, I wasn’t quite satisfied with the way the story unfolded. Hereafter is about a girl who continues to haunt the lake where she drowned and has to decide if she wants to save a boy or not. I like the idea of ghosts staying where they last felt alive, and I hope the story will live up to its potential.

 

 

 

 

I read Sarah Ockler’s debut novel Twenty Boy Summer last year and thought it was a really great summer book. Her second book, Fixing Delilah, appeals to my involvement in family issues and the way it affects how we think of ourselves. I’m especially in love with the paper dolls on the cover.

What are you reading this week?

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

