Book Reviews

[review] Audrey, Wait! – Robin Benway

When funny, charming, absolutely-normal Audrey Cuttler dumps her boyfriend Evan, he writes a song about her that becomes a number-one hit – and rockets Audrey to stardom!

Suddenly, tabloid paparazzi are on her tail and Audrey can barely hang with her friends at concerts or the movies without getting mobbed – let alone score a date with James, her adorable coworker at the Scooper Dooper. Her life will never be the same – at least, not until Audrey confronts Evan live on MTV and lets the world know exactly who she is!

Discovery: I picked up Audrey, Wait on the recommendation of my soul sister, Helen Kiaya Pemberton.

+     Humour. Audrey is a vibrant, witty heroine and it’s her attitude that drives the story. She may have become the subject of a Billboard Top 10 hit, but her thoughts and feelings are all too real. Her quips are more sarcastic than what most of us could probably muster under the same circumstances. I especially love the banter and friendship between Audrey and Victoria.

+     Musical references. Any novel with references & epigraphs from bands like Jack’s Mannequin, Snow Patrol, The Smiths and Oasis automatically gets awesome points in my book. I love using music when I write so it was great seeing that another author is influenced just as much. The songs Benway chose did a wonderful job of highlighting Audrey’s character.

–     Intensity. This book was a bizarre experience. I started out enjoying the pace, the characters, the dialogue, and then–much like Audrey, I imagine–things went downhill very very quickly. I’m aware that that perception may have been the intention of the author: to make you feel like Audrey, to understand why she thinks the way she does and why she does the things she does, but either way, it was EXHAUSTING. I remember putting the book down around chapter ten and heaving a breath because I was just so tired.

Don’t get me wrong. The plot was great and Audrey was fun to read about. But there’s something to be said for how much you feel everything Audrey feels. This is not me bragging, but if I wasn’t into a lot of the real-life bands that Audrey mentions, I probably wouldn’t have understood her as well as I did.

RecommendationsAudrey, Wait! is a niche book, in my opinion: the kind of novel that is set for a particular audience, and while you can totally pick it up and enjoy it, the whole experience that Benway seems to be going for will be lost unless you can keep up.

Rating: Good

Go check out Robin Benway’s website and follow her on Twitter @robinbenway.

Next review: Supernaturally, Kiersten White

Leave a Reply

