Off the Bookshelf

Off the Bookshelf: August 9, 2011

Off the Bookshelf is a post dedicated to the books I’m currently reading, and will go up every Tuesday here on Mermaid Vision Books.

This week, I’m starting a new series and an ARC!

I’ll be honest: I’ve been avoiding The Mortal Instruments series for a few reasons. The plotline doesn’t actually interest me, and I’ve heard a lot of negative things about the author and her writing. Strangely enough, many of my favorite authors are friends with Cassandra Clare and praise her work.

I pride myself on being a fair and wide reader. I don’t want to offer up a negative opinion of a book or series without having read them, because I think that’s doing your readers or friends a disservice. So even though I’m really iffy about these books, I’m going to read them, if only so that I know what I’m talking about when people ask me what I think of them.
This is the second book in the Mortal Instruments series, and I was lucky enough to find it in my library without putting it on hold.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m finally winding my way around to this book! I was very lucky to get this book off NetGalley, which is quickly becoming one of my favourite sites.

I have a very strong love for dystopian fiction, and in that same vein, I also have very high standards. Pretty much every dystopian I read will be compared to The Giver so if a book can stir up the same heartache and admiration Lois Lowry did, it’s perfect in my head.

 

 

 

 

What are you reading this week?

Leave a Reply

